Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Airsofting! 25% OFF (Exclusions apply, see details)   Use Code: SUMMER2017

A&K Full Metal M249 Airsoft Machine Gun (Version: MK II / Black / AEG)

271 Customer Reviews

by AJ S. on 03/16/2016
"I got this gun for christmas this past year... I am very pleased with the quality of the gun. Solid construction and great operation. This gun put me on a national airsoft team as a heavy support gunner...

Pros:
great rof
very accurate with nice iron sights
sends 'em running for cover
solid construction
and so on
works great with M4 midcap clips and makes it so much more agile
comes with a nice transportation and storage box

Cons:
-the pistol grip seems to come loose alot and is frustrating to tighten back up when need be without completely taking the gun apart
-the box mag jams from time to time
-box mag clip is cheap and breaks rather easily... so you have to put ur finger under the reciever and push it out
-the prongs to lift up the body cover have a metal piece that holds them together that falls out frequently (just bend it a bit and it fixes it)

Overall... great gun on field and is a nice touch when people come and visit (have it sitting on the box when im working on it in my room, and people walk in and are like "WTF! awesome!" from time to time.
by Adam F. on 03/16/2016
"I got this gun about a month ago, and I'm loving it. The bipod can take the weight even on it's 3rd setting, and I have muscled it around holding only the carry handle. The load-bearing parts work as expected. The box mag feeds a lot more than I expected, and the sound control feature is pretty awesome. As an added bonus, the gearbox has a quick change spring feature. So far, the only upgrades I've done internally are: indoor ready CQB spring, reshimming, and replacing that gigantic glob of green Chinese grease with Teflon gear grease. Now the gun is super smooth. Now to pros and cons:

Pros:
- Load bearing parts work as expected
- stock FPS with .20g bbs is about 420
- very large and heavy (can be a con)
- full auto only
- looks awesome
- is awesome

Cons:
- gearbox only had a glob of green grease in the bottom only contacting 1 gear
- too hard to not hosing people
- buttstock retaing pin (to change spring) is hard to get out

Overall, this gun is pretty cool, but I do not recommend it to you if you are under 6 feet tall or are weak, because I am 6'2" and 220lbs, and I sometimes get tired with this monster.
by Michael S. on 03/16/2016
"So i just recieved this gun today, I am very new to airsoft and when i decided to buy my first AEG their was no other gun that i could think of other than the M249 it is by far my favorite gun. Yes it is a little pricey for a new person to airsoft but it is the cheapest M249 i could find. I decided to buy this version because i personally like the longer barrel and the stock. I persoanlly dont like the para's folding stock. For a beginner to airsoft i absolutly love this gun.

Pros
Looks freaking amazing
Doesnt stop shooting
Wieght
Realistic

Cons
My box mag dosent stay in the grove but that could just be mine
Other than that it is amazing

6/5
by Josh K. on 03/16/2016
"I loved this gun as stock, but wanted a better headturner at the field...

Here was my setup for my M249:
SHS 13:1
SHS High Speed Motor
Matrix 8mm Bearing Bushings
Matrix shims
Matrix Cylinder
Matrix Polycarb piston
CA Piston head

This thing was shooting 40-45 bb/s on a 11.1v 25c LiPo!

No need to waste money on the Echo1 Version of this gun! Buy this one, spend $120 in upgrades, and MAKE AN INSANE SUPPORT WEAPON

Only thing about this gun i didnt like was the box mag. It cant keep up with my ROF as well as i would like. So i use Flashmags. works great.
by Joshua L. on 03/16/2016
"I bought this about 4 years ago so here's a good review for this who want to know its durability.
When I got it it came with its own gun case, I don't think it does anymore though, but same model and specs and brand. It's served very well with an occasional tune up. When it first came in I was a little worried cause in a few very small unnoticeable places there were tiny corners that had a lil rust in them. But over the years it hasn't grown or got worse so no worries there, it hasn't gotten loose anywhere, stayed stable and decent hopup and it's internals have lasted this long, except did need a new main spring cause it got weak Over time. I lost my bipod cause I took it off. They sell them here for 100$ :/ a little over priced for what t is and made of. The bipod rattles when running but thats to be expected.

I do recommend you get a smart charger for it, and clean Out the gear box and put better grease in it. It's stock piston and head could be reinforced better but the stock have lasted me this long so to each his own on that part lol. The magazine has only needed one small fix in 4 years cause one wire wasn't sodered well enough. The mag also has a port in the bottom they don't tell you about, where u can plug in your own button module via headphone jack style plug. For those who'd rather auto wind it by button rather than rely on its auto sound sensing winding.

Over all for the durability and rare problems I've had with it I give it a 5/5 cause 5 years later it's still shooting true. Give it a little TLC and it will last u a loong time.
by Hunter B. on 03/16/2016
"Just got it along with my box of awesomeness and about $300 in upgrade parts for this gun. havent upgraded anything yet but stock its pretty good. mine came with a broken box mag, but im not gonna deduct a star for that because it doesnt affect the gun. i have an RMA for the box mag, and using m4 mags in the meantime. ROF is decent, range is decent. worth getting over the echo1 saw. just buy this and upgrade yourself. nice weight to it too. about 15.4lbs unloaded. its a support weapon and meant to be heavy, so i never understood why people listed the weight of this weapon as a con. all in all its a great gun, recommended if you like the support gunner role. still waiting to skirmish it, hoping it will outperform my AR's.
by Kathy T. on 03/16/2016
"Today it is exactly 1 year since I’ve gotten this gun. I’ve already written a review on the gun before but that was when it wasn’t as good as it is now. By that I mean the hop-up. When I got the gun my hop up didn’t work at all so I had my friend fix it a month or so back. Now that the hop-up works, the gun is a total beast! On my first review on this I gave it a 6/5 even with the hop-up not working. Now that I got the hop-up working I give the gun a 7/5! The fps is really high and the bullet spread is a plus in my opinion. The box mag is a whopping 2500 rounds and auto winds. People say it jams all the time but it really doesn’t. If you wind it too much then yes it will jam. I got a nice 10.8v battery in it and it shoots ungodly fast.
Pros:
• High fps
• Nice bullet spread
• Amazing range
• Iron sights are nice
• 2500 round auto wind box mag
• Very sturdy build
• Full metal
• Huge battery compartment (stock)
• Adjustable hop-up
• Adjustable bipod
• Amazing carrying handle

Cons:
• The metal points wear pretty easy
• Heavy (con for some people but not me)

That’s pretty much it, this gun’s a beast and I love it!
by Keo V. on 03/16/2016
"This gun is A BEAST! i've used it in a few games and it shot about 360-365 out of the box. The trigger switch on the gun was a little extended and jams in the gears, so you can take the grip off and move the switch a bit and it will work again. when this happened i was so scared and thought i broke it. The trigger does stick and continue firing if you hold the trigger down too much. to fix this, just keep pulling the trigger. Overall, one of the best guns i got. I'm planning to put a tightbore on it and that will make it deadly. Also my hop up was jammed and i couldnt adjust it without taking the whole barrel out, and my bipod broke off. With a little love and care, this gun will treat you right.

Pros:
Heavy
Shoots hard and fast
Looks awesome
Gets me A LOT of compliments

Cons:
Bides thebipod breaking off, None.
by Derrick C. on 03/16/2016
"I love this gun.

Pros: beautiful intimidating gun, gets a lot of compliments.
Hit just about everything, point and shoot.
No jamming problems
Cons: Bipod broke off in first game ( It looks like pot metal)
Heavy which is to be accepted
Hop up isn't all that great might want to replace it.

Even with the cons this gun is amazing and I highly recommend it.
by Yushi S. on 03/16/2016
"The A&K M249 SAW is one of the best airsoft LMG's out in the market, i personally own one and i absolutely LOVE IT!
I have the full stock version, but i would reccomend the para version if you are a smaller guy.
Its a bit on the heavier side when the box mag is completely full, so a sling is HIGHLY reccomended.
There is only 1 part that i would reccomend replacing and that is the trigger switch, it tends to get stuck and you will have to unplug your battery to get it to stop shooting. ($10)
Pros.
The box mag isa bit wobbly and the "sound control" option wont keep up to your rate of fire once you run a 9.6 so a pressure switch is reccomended

Price
solid metal construction (stock is very sturdy for how long it is)
Great performance (~14 RPS with 8.4)
everything else!

Cons.
Trigger tends to get stuck
by Zane A. on 03/16/2016
"5 stars, the date is 6/12/2013, and I've had this gun since 1/6/2011, this is a fantastic gun, buy it, you will not regret it. the only problems i have had with the internals were that after about 50,000 rounds through it, the spring broke and the trigger plate was bent, but both were easy fixes, and other than that, there have been lots of cosmetic issues with the gun (It's battle worn), but all in all, it was completely worth every penny.
by Zack S. on 03/16/2016
"This is the best suppression weapon i have ever owned. I use .25's and i upgraded the inner barrel. The hop up is kind of a pain to get to but still worth the time it takes. Out of the box i pretty much had to tighten everything and replace a couple of screws. That could have been just mine but still worth mentioning. The box mag is made of abs which is easily cracked or broken. This is easy to fix, just dont drop your gun. I solved the box mag issue by welding a metal housing for it. If you aren't that industrious then you can heed the "don't drop it" advice. Accuracy is good when inner barrel is upgraded. Distance isnt that fantastic, reccomended for close quarters only (this is to save you a lot of aggravation because anyone with an m4 can tag you long before you get in decent range). Now, Pros and Cons

Pros
-Giant box mag included.
-Excellent rpm
-Nice FPS at 370 consistently when using .25's
-intimidating
-full metal

Cons
-Distance
-ABS box mag

I would recommend the butterfly type battery, smart charger, and the bandolier sling listed at the bottom of the page simply because while i listed full metal as a pro it still gets damn heavy at 18 lbs fully loaded.
by Allison C. on 03/16/2016
"Oh god where do I start,
This gun is Beautiful, I would use this for any day of support, If you are a Support gunner, This is the Gun for you! I Would get an extra box mag for it though. There is so much battery space you could house a 11.V Lipo. Large type batteries. The Iron sights are beautiful, 15 Pounds of Deadly force! It even has a place to store dummy rounds (Aka It can fit belts of bullets) The BB's Go right on the Iron sights. If you where to get this or the Paratrooper, Get this. It has a longer barrel the Sights are beautiful You don't need the RIS Rail on the Praratrooper, These sights are the best, And this gun has more battery storage.

Pro's:
All metal goodness
These things sell faster than a Marathon runner can run.
Long accuracy
Iron sights a Freaking perfect!
Can Put dummy Belts in.
It can use Lipo's


Con's:
The stock is a little long,
And the ABS Plastic Drum Mag, Its strong, But I would be careful.
by Alec C. on 03/16/2016
"I have had this gun for almost a year. At first it had a couple problems with the trigger, but that seems common and was fixed easily. On the field in the woods the gun performs like a star. Every time I shoot in a direction of my teammates they duck for cover. The gun is very powerful. I personally nicknamed it Big Dog. The box magazine is interesting because it is split into two parts. The first part holds 2500 rounds which can be fired right away, but a second part can hold an extra 4000 rounds.

Pros:
Heavy (Good for a guy my size, 350lbs and 6'5)
Painful (Leaves welts)
Powerful (Almost a year and its still shooting 380 with .25s)
Great Magazine Capacity (Part 1 of the Box Mag=2500, Part 2 of the Box Mag=4000)
Durable (I have dropped it on rocks and it still works, mostly metal)
Takes M4/M16 Magazines
Great Battery Space

Cons:
Heavy (Not good for smaller people and is tiring to haul around)
Comes with trigger problems (Seems to happen to a lot of people, easy to fix though.)
Goes through bbs quickly
Ok Internals (A&K are good, but not as good as other companies like VFC)
Parts for it are expensive

I personally love it. If you want a LMG of medium weight the M249 series is the way to go. I am personally going to upgrade it to a monster.

Oh, and remember to clean the internals for best internals.
by Joseph A. on 03/16/2016
"I've had this system for a couple of years now, and am very glad to have kept it for so long. I am one hundred percent satisfied with it. after throwing on a rail system with a peq-box to house a lipo, and a para stock, it;s damn near perfect. the factory internals are extremely robust. she can run a 9.6 lipo with ease, and I have no doubt about even higher voltages! the auto-winding drum never missfeeds, and can keep up with it's insane rate of fire (so long as you remember to put the AA's in!). the only problem i've had up to this point was that my front sight assembly was mis-aligned by a hair. but that was easily corrected with a slight tap of a hammer, and she shoots straight and true. this 249 is a dominator on the field. when you open up on the poor sods in your sights, they know it's you. loud, fast, and long range to boot, this bad mamma-jamma is a real force multiplier. the bipod is kinda flimsy, and the feed tray cover takes a bit of finnagling with the charging handle to get it to seat and lock, but those are purely external issues. internally, this thing is damn near a perfect fit for a support role. while it does lack in the precision range area, it's not a rifle, folks. higly reccomended.

pro's:
-robust internals
-fantastic feed rate on drum mag
-durable durable durable!

con's:
-feed tray feels like it needs 3 hands to seat
-kidna piddly range
-semi flimsy feel

all in all, buy the damn thing.