Reviews: Army Full Steel Metal Body L85A1 Full Size AEG Rifle.

$200.00 $160.00

23 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-Army-L85A1

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Gabe E. on 2011-12-11 21:26:01
"This gun shoots beautifully whens it works. Due to the fact it is a split gearbox the piston gets chewed up really fast. My hop up work for a little then just started jamming BBs. I got a whole 2-3days of good play on it until I had to fix it. It is easy to take apart n put back together though. And the single fire jams up.

Upgrades I made

6.03 matrix barrel (barrel is already a 6.04)
SR-25 piston is a must!!!! (try to get the 3 metal toothed)
Ver.7 piston head
Red element M4/M16 one piece hop up
Polar spacer
Find a nice bucking
Fits a 9.6v chuck battery (do not use anything higher!)

Once upgrades are in you'll have the best gun on the field guaranteed!

I recommend buying a better version of the L85 so you do not have to do the upgrades.
by Teddy P. on 2009-09-25 19:31:51
"decent starter gun. just has a few flaws:
1.very heavy due to all metal design and reinforced gearbox
2.fairly low rof due to the sr-25 sector gear
3.low sight mount so a riser mount would be required to
4. pain in the arse to change the battery
5. crappy ni-cd battery

but there are also some advantages:
1.long barrel capability so with a tightbore groupings can be high
2.decent internals
3.easy upgradeability
4.solid metal for durability
5.very compact
6. super SEXY!!!

personaly though i would have rather gotten a g&g or classic army sportline, but this rifle definetly has the capability to compete. just through in a new piston, motor, spring, tightbore, battery, and replace the sector gear and u can have a super dangerous weapon.
by Christopher D. on 2009-09-19 16:26:45
"I liked the gun when I got it but I went to upgrade the gun with a new spring and found the pistion heavily warn down. Called evike and the sent me a new piston and head free. Very nice of them. the last thing i didn't like about the gun was the problem with the single action couting out and not fireing anything. Easy fix by flipping to auto then back to semi. The acuracy is amaising even in full auto for about 150 ft will take any m4/16 mags. Very heavy weight but when you put it in your sholder it is as light as a feather.
4 stars because of piston ans semi problems.
by Dan S. on 2009-03-10 15:17:43
"I think the reason many of you are having issues firing in semi auto is because you don't push the button in the mag well of the gun that releases the spring.
by Spencer C. on 2009-01-25 18:12:15
"I got this as a christmas present. the piston was broken and i sent it back for repairs. evike fixed it for free!:) the metal body is great and it looks awesome. the plastic cheek rest feels great when long range aiming. the rubber butt pad grips alot, sometimes too much. ROF is amazing! the ROF is better than my well r2 skorpion. the fps is a little lacking, so either upgrade the spring or use it for CQB. mine is all tricked out for CQB with a red dot sight, awesome battery, and more. o yeah, one more thing, the battery that comes with it is really bad. get a new one!!!!!
Pros:
good ROF
metal body
grippy butt pad
bullpup gives it a long barrel
really nice mag
easy takedown
compatible with lots of flash hiders/silencers
ACCURATE

Cons:
battery
FPS
thats really all...
Good gun. if you want it, get it.
by Michael L. on 2008-12-12 18:18:30
"Just received this today (order placed 6 days ago on a saturday), so i was pretty impressed with Evike's speed of processing. :) Just in time for skirmish tomorrow.

Well, a few notable comments i must make:

1: Semi-auto doesn't work after 2 shots.
2: the magazine that came with it was faulty
3: Regarding the battery, i only have small batts at home but i also have an adaptor that enables me to use them on the L85 which requires large battery.
5: Good ROF on full auto
6: The orange flash hider is a biatch to remove; i simply painted it black. Its full metal btw...
7: I love it! :) Easily put together and taken apart..

Since this is the only bullpup AEG around other than the Type 96, it fulfills my requirement for a compact rifle other than my p90.

Hope an airsoft version of a SAR-21 comes about soon.. :P (my service rifle in the military)

Thanks evike ! :)
by austin h. on 2008-11-27 10:03:11
"ok this gun is deffinatly not worth the price....yeah it looks/feels cool ...however semi almost never works...i lock the blowback and it still blows back...the handguard where you put the battery can only hold very few styles of batterys...i did run a lipo through it and it was smooth....range is pretty good i guess but it always jams and crap...i used mine a few days ago for the first time...i got like 3 kills then went to charge some guys and it jammed lucky they didnt seeme so i fell back and messed with it....i dont know it always acts like the battery is dieing even if its full charge...i give it a 3 because it looks nice as heck and its sturdy
by Alex d. on 2008-11-23 22:43:31
"i love this gun.

Pros:
good ROF. i was shocked because of all the bad reviews about it.
excellent accuracy
great full metal body. very sturdy
comfortable to hold after you get used to it
good clip
strong sling
good fps. perfect for cqb but enough for outdoor play

Cons:
the battery is a bitch to get out and put back in. the very worst part of the gun
the blowback is anoyying and makes the gun louder. but some people like that.

overall this cuz is a very good deal for the amount it is and i would recommended it to anyone
by cody r. on 2008-11-21 17:54:37
"what type of bbs does it use 6mm i need to know to buy it
by Karen D. on 2008-11-21 13:26:04
"this thing is great! It says it comes with a loader, but it doesn't, and my hop up doesnt seem to work. a little back heavy, and it takes a while to get the battery in and out
by Michael H. on 2008-11-15 12:25:32
"Can you remove the flashhider, What is the biggest battery that can fit in the gun, What mag's can fit in the gun?
by Karen D. on 2008-11-12 16:22:47
"is it a tool winding mag, or the bottom winder? I need to Know, or are they the same things?

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2