Reviews: Shadow Op Type96 Airsoft Sniper Rifle - OD Green

$115.00

71 Customer Reviews
Model: SR-MB01-OD
Location: L6-007

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 71 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by Will A. on 2013-06-18 11:03:26
"Eh, an OK gun, I would not recommend it, but it shoots well. The plastic body and cheek pad broke very easily, and the under barrel is EXTREMELY wobbly. Hop up is the worst I've see. Ever.

PROS:
Shoots well (accurate and powerful)
springy mag ejection
Bolt action is smooth

CONS
Hop up is difficult
Not very durable
Speed loader doesn't work very efficiently and doesn't connect with mag well. Expect A LOT of dropped bb's
says MADE IN CHINA in white letters across the body.
Came with a missing bolt. (Chinese manufacturing probably)
by Austin B. on 2012-09-29 09:16:54
"I recently purchased this item it's not that bad the only flaw i have with this is the under rail it's realy wobbly.


over all rating 4/5
by kevi b. on 2012-07-31 07:28:56
"I got this gun 2 years ago and used it quite often. it served me very well in plenty of wars. Its a very solid gun. It won't break if you drop it. Here are some pros and cons.

Pros:

Very accurate with .28 or more Bbs
Hits hard no one wants to be on the other team when you use this gun.
Solid, strong build
easy customization (Butt pads, cheek rest, hop-up and there is plenty of rail space for a sniper.)
2-stage trigger is very nice
sling mounts are very solid
Looks

Cons

Heavy as hell, once you pick a spot to snipe try not to move so much.

I don't know if this was just me but after several thousand shots put through the gun the trigger box started to crack and everything inside of it basically fell apart i really recommend getting a full metal trigger box for only 30$. this gun would be insane on the field if you updated ALL the internals.
by rob p. on 2012-06-30 05:16:33
"this gun is fairly accurate until you brake it in. this gun shoots about 460 fps or 480fps with .25 gram bbs. it doesn't come with scope rings so it you have your own scope you want to get scope rings.


pros cons
lightweight the sling
accurate orange tip
reliable
mostly metal
fps
looks real
by Kevin T. on 2012-04-30 16:49:59
"This gun is awesome, i got it in the mail a month ago. It is amazing for the price, as good accuracy and range as a sniper should have. The bi pod and scope that come with it if you select them at the bottom of the page are awesome, full metal and work great. The magazines are full metal, and heavy, and spring loaded witch is a very helpful and cool feature. I would recemend getting extra magazines, i got one extra and it wasn't enough, not because the magazines don't hold alot, because you blow through ammo. The pull back is heavy, but you get used to it. the one problem i had with this gun is how when i got it, all of the bullets shot like 5 feet to the right. I was about to take the gun apart, but then i relised that the orange tip was rubbing against the bbs, so i rotated it with pliers, and the gun is now perfect.

PROS
Realistic feel
heavy
fps 450
range
incredible accuracy
bi pod
scope
ajustible stock and cheek rest

CONS
only the orange tip, but that was fixed imediantly


all in all, great gun. Th only reason you shouldn't get it, is if you absolutely hate L96's
by dominick c. on 2011-12-13 11:47:19
"I am writing another review about this gun because in the video it says its hard to disassemble but its not I did it with ease the hardest part was getting the trigger box out. the hopup he had to use pliers but thats because he didn't unscrew the brass ring. if you do it comes of with a little tug.
by Robert F. on 2011-12-11 17:32:37
"This is a good gun for the price. I have not had any jams with it and I would estimate i have put about 500 rounds through it. I personally use .28 Matrix but I think i am going to get some .30 BBs. I did some grouping tests and was pleased with it as it is stock. At about 30 yards it had a 7 inch group after 50 BBs. This gun would be about 4 stars if not for all of the upgrade parts so you can turn this gun into a top notch sniper rifle.

If you plan on getting a TBB you WILL need to get a new hop-up as the stock one only fits the stock barrel, I would recommend the PDI hop-up but it's $70

The internals on it as not so exciting, plastic spring guide, plastic piston, and a plastic trigger assembly (it does have metal sears but what kind of metal is beyond me). I would recommend you change these to metal ASAP and also getting a better spring that would lose its FPS so soon.

Overall it is a good gun to run stock for a while but time with beat it and the internals will break eventually.

Pros Cons
good grouping for stock plastic internals
feels nice to hold looks like cheap plastic body but has held up pretty well
you get TWO mags with it
fun to shoot
the bi-pod its pretty decend

Sidenote: the golden pin or "Jesus" pin has been fixed on this one and won't fall out.
by dominick c. on 2011-12-01 14:18:49
"I got this gun three years ago, and its still strong as an ox. This gun has proven to be accurate. Mine started with around 470fps and hurt when you got hit. It sometimes has problems with the bolt, it wont always go down but that's because its not all the way forward if you screw in the screw on the back of the bolt you'll be fine. In its old age it has begun to jam every ounce in a while. Just simply pull the bolt back take out the clip and shake it, that solves that. this gun is very amazing and its got a good price. Very good for new and semi pros. Although It has started to loose fps so I might get the upgrades. I would get the 6.01mm barrel too, although its very hard to get the sturdy hop-up of. This gun is very silent it is hard for your enemies to tell were you are. I would recommend getting a gillie suit and camo form. I have loved this gun along time and you will too.
by Nathan B. on 2011-11-30 15:04:00
"a very good gun and it is very powerful just do not use the wrong bbs they float badly
by Abe M. on 2011-09-10 21:11:38
"This is my favorite airsoft gun I own. It has all the stuff snipers need accuracy, power and range. The only downside is that it weighs quite a bit but that really isn't a big downside at all.

There is one thing I should say, after about a month of owning this gun something went wrong and several parts flat out broke. Some internal part went out of place and blocked the barrel from the inside and then not long after the bolt would not go down not letting me fire at all. I contacted Evike and they are now sending me a new one. I think it was a factory problem probably unlikely to happen to anyone else.

Don't let the above statement discourage you this gun is really awesome.
by Mike R. on 2011-06-10 05:49:30
"i got this gun a year ago and it still fires around 500fps
by dominick c. on 2011-06-02 18:05:16
"I got this gun 2 years ago and loved it! when I got it it was very powerful and accurate. 2 years after purchase I hit a circle about a half ft radius at 175 ft.(with .28g bbs) I got mine when they came with a bipod it was really not worth extra. You don't need an upgrade for this sniper. one problem is sometimes the bolt wont go down its really the back square just tighten the screw on the back and your problems are solved. You should clean this gun every 2 or 3 months (or more if you play a lot)for better accuracy. You need .28g or above.

pros:
very high fps
extremely accurate
solid for very long time(sometimes you need to tighten all the screws)
big magazine
hand grip (very comfortable)
cons:
heavy it almost ways 10 pounds(I took out the weights then it was around 5)
very hard to get into
long (some might like)

All around great gun! I love it!

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 71 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...