Reviews: Shadow Op Type96 Airsoft Sniper Rifle - Desert Tan

$120.00 $99.00

23 Customer Reviews
Model: SR-MB01-DE
Location: L5-038

Displaying 13 to 23 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:    1  2 
by Jason G. on 2008-09-29 18:13:02
"it may not be perfect out of the box but if you want perfect, upgrades are there, or you can pay hundreds more for one that has been upgraded for you, Evike offers the service and the fee's are quite reasonable, if you have to pay to have it done or you can INVEST in some upgrades and do it yourself, either way this weapon is a great chassis and foundation with lots of potential.

Besides you get what you pay for and I personally buy here because the prices are great and staff is doing a stand up job.
by Rocco V. on 2008-09-28 10:23:40
"Ok, I have personally owned and tested bot the WELL/UTG and BE versions of this gun. First off the BE chronos at about 460 fps with .25's, but shoots barely 120 feet with any accuracy, after that the bb veers off to the right. By the time it reaches 170 ft it will be a good 7-10 feet to the right of the target and even that is inconsistent, mine broke it is a pos.

The UTG version is somewhat better, I owned one and have seen others in action. it is accurate to maybe 160 ft and will make it to close to 200 ft but will be 5 or more feet off from target. the other ones I have seen perform inconsistently, one could shoot as well the BE version, two were shooting in between the two, and the other two were about as good as mine.

I recommend getting an aeg over this unless you are a backyard player (in a very big back yard) because unless you are very good fieldcraft aeg's will rip you to shreds. My KWA M4 and CA m16 shoot further and more accurately, it doesn't make sense to get this over an aeg. Another problem is the distance you have to use it. Minimum engagement distance at most fields is 100 ft for a gun above 400 fps, this gun is close to 470 with a .25g bb, so you only have 20-50 feet to work with in order to make a shot with any accuracy. so on top of this you will have people laying down massive amounts of fire power in you direction with the same if not more range. Again, if you casually play on private property go for it, but if you skirmish at actual airsoft fields don't.

For $25 more you can buy a jg G36 or M4, just do that because this is a poor example of a sniper rifle (at least stock). If you want a decent sniper rifle get a jg Bar-10 and put in $400 worth of VSR-10 upgrades, you will have one of the cheapest possible effective sniper rifles.
by Jeff W. on 2008-09-25 21:03:50
"This gun is great! Haven't used it in a war yet, but my friend has one and it is very good in wars, so I get the feeling mine will be as well. It does come in tan, not gold. I recomend getting another sling with it, the one it comes with is not bad, but it could be better. I also recomend another magazine so you don't run out as fast if you're trigger happy. All in all this is an amazing gun for the price and is highly recomended!
by Michael B. on 2008-09-22 15:11:29
"this is one of the finest guns here. this gun is hard to cock for beginners I would only suggest this gun if you have been playing for around 3-4 years because if you do not yet understand the fine stature of a gun yet then why get it but if you are like me who goes out with his friends like every day and plays a little then this is a perfect gun for you dead on shot an awesome scope witch scopes SUCK with some guns a bipod if you buy it witch helps because its very heavy for an Airsoft gun and has amazing range the only real downside is the FPS or velocity 500 fps is a lot for a kid or any other younger players somebody will get hurt if you do not use the right padding if you go out with a tank top or a short sleeve shirt it will go into your skin about 3 cm. but if you are smart and go out in padding witch gives the affect of a real war no harm done just welts witch you get from every gun so all and all this gun rocks for players that have been playing for 3-4 years
by David K. on 2008-07-17 03:48:52
"The few reviews below seem to have mistaken this for the "BE model".

There is the "WELL" that is the same as UTG (The good one, this one).

Then there is the "BE" model that Evike discontinued. The Both elephant model is very fragile and often breaks off the box from reviews.

The UTG / Well model is very durable, mine shoots perfectly and from the construction of it it is very well built. Don't have to spend $500 to get a good sniper.
by jordan l. on 2008-07-15 19:55:35
"dont listen to that evan guy, he just got a bad gun. This IS a good company, but they are also cheap and mass manufactured. Thus, there will always be 1 bad gun in a batch of 1000 good ones.
by evan m. on 2008-07-15 19:52:06
"this gun and all other rifles made by this brand suck ass at 50 feet i had horrible grouping and could not shoot through a cardboard box all in all it is a piece of shit and a waste of money the only way to get a good spring rifle is spend at least 500 dollars.
by Peyton B. on 2008-07-01 13:10:04
"this gun is awsome. it has incredible range and accuracy
i wish the clip held more because i have to constantly reload but this is a really good gun
by Alex M. on 2008-07-01 12:57:16
"First of all, this gun is NOT gold (the top pictures are wrong, it comes as seen in the lower pictures)...

It's a great rifle, with nothing different to the UTG version that I can see (I also have the UTG). After some tweaking it's quite accurate, easily hitting within an inch at 50 feet (don't have any more distance in my backyard to test further). When you get it, clean it out (barrel, cylinder, cylinder internals and hop-up more so), and you'll have no accuracy problems.

Overall... good for the money, but the paint job is poor and scratches easily so it needs some adhesive clear matt lacker before you take it out for a game.
by Jenny C. on 2008-06-23 15:04:34
"This rifle is very accurate and powerful. There is another one like it by Both elephant that Evike.com don't carry anymore. I strongly believe the previous review is not the same brand.
by brett s. on 2008-06-20 17:24:50
"i used to have this gun but sold it. its exteemly fragile, i dropped it once on carpet and the barrel came off and i had to use duct tape to keep it on after that, its really big so you might have trouble walking around with it and it will slow u down alot, and its crzy innaccurate. if you just want it for the unlucky person that comes through your bedroom door then go ahead spend $100, if you're actual;ly bringing it to a war, spend your money on somethin else. oh and i had the black one i dont know exactly waht color this thing is

Displaying 13 to 23 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:    1  2