Reviews: Tokyo Marui Hi-Capa 5.1 Gas Blowback Pistol (Hi-Kick Hi-Grouping)

$180.00 $158.40

This item is currently Out of Stock

17 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-TM-HICAPA51-B
Location: U14-223

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 17 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Landon C. on 2014-11-27 21:17:31
"I have had my 5.1 for about eight months now and have used it exclusively on propane. It has been babied when at home, but not on the field and is my primary for indoor fields. It was also my first TM gun and boy, have I been impressed. Everything they say about TM pistols is true and proudly displayed in this pistol.

The build quality is excellent, and in fact the only issues Ive had have been with other company products used in conjunction with the pistol. There are no real seams anywhere on it, either slide or frame, its got a decent amount of heft to it with a loaded magazine but is light without it. Thankfully, the overly long orange tip came out of the barrel with little work, a short bath in hot water and it came out undamaged and I can replace it for travel with ease. The sear and hammer are well matched, not match precision of course but that isnt needed. The hammer is held back far enough that the slide and nozzle dont catch on it unlike WE models.

The recoil is light in comparison to my KJW P-08 and various metal slided pistols, but is also incredibly quick, making double taps very fast. The light weight also means that you can really get to blasting with it without too much drop off.

The hop up and inner barrel are of course, magic straight out of Dwarven legend.

The only downsides to the pistol are, for the most part, not its fault.

Firstly, the light rail isnt actually attached out of the box and requires you to drill the holes in the frame to attach. This was a little bit of a lip biter for my because, heck, who wants to possibly ruin a brand new pistol? Its straight forward enough however and isnt a problem.

Second, and the only other issue with the pistol, and this is purely personal taste, the rear sight has no dots, its just a straight bar with a slot in it. It is fully adjustable of course but I really would have liked a three dot arrangement or a Millet style white bar.

The only big issue with compatibility I ran into is the pistol does not get along with WE Hi-Capa magazines. They feed and fire just fine, but the follower doesnt ride high enough to engage the slide stop and, as I found it, was causing the catch to peen and round a bit. Ive found that KJW magazines work without flaw however which is great.

This last one really is not a con of the pistol, but I just flat out hate the blocky pistol grip it and most Hi-Capa clones come with. I replaced mine with a Tanio Koba grip set and havent looked back.

So, pros and cons.

Pros:
Great, snappy recoil if light.
Wonderful, solid construction.
Very little play in the slide.
Classic TM accuracy.
Fit and finish is superb.
Slide release that actually works when you rack the slide! How novel.
Gas efficient, doesnt much care about temperature even down into the mid 30's.

Cons:
Plastic slide(?).
Blocky grip frame(?).
Light rail requires drilling frame to install.
Doesnt like WE magazines.

Overall, a great pistol, theres no shortage of upgrade parts for the Hi-Capa and the TM 5.1 makes a great start to your perfect pistol or a great out of the box performer.
by Jose P. on 2014-11-04 16:12:59
"I was recommended this brand of GBB pistols, and I'm glad I bought this GBB this is my second purchase I have an AEG and my now my TM hi capa 5.1. My TM can compete with my $300 G&G. This is the best purchase I made.
Pros: Everything the only con I noticed is the plastic side and It doesn't bother me at all It does increase the ROF and that is a plus for me.
by Dino T. on 2014-10-08 20:51:50
"Great pistol! Bought about 2 weeks ago and I'm very happy with its performance. Very accurate and gas efficient. I get 3 full mags of bbs off 1 fill of gg on the tm mag and 2 full mags off bs with the we mags. Some upgrades I would suggest are bucking, inner barrel, lightweight bbu, and a metal slide.
Pros:
Accurate
Gas efficient
Snappy
Cons
Plastic but I don't mind because it keeps the weight down and shoots fast
by Richard C. on 2014-07-23 20:48:46
"Ah the classical Tokyo Marui hi capa 5.1. This gun is quite possibly the best pistol on the market. My 5.1 outranges my friend's kwa mp9 and almost outranges his SR10. I got it when it was 160 so the price wasn't that bad. This gun is a beast.

Pros:
Massive Range
Good FPS (330-350)
Made in Japan trades
Metal lower frame
Tokyo Marui hop up

Cons:
Plastic slide (it actually increases the ROF but most people hate the plastic slide)
Now its a bit pricey (used to be 160 but now its 180)

Upgrades:
The basic upgrades include a stronger recoil spring (150 or below. Don't get the 170 it decreases gas efficiency), a better nozzle (KJW red/blue nozzles and guarder nozzles are the best), and a 6.01 or 6.03 inner barrel (PDI inner barrels are extremely rare and expensive but are worth it. Madbull 6.03 inner barrels are good), and maybe a metal slide (AVOID Guarder, 5KU, and WE) Airsoft Surgeon slides and Airsoft Masterpiece slides are amazing, and a metal outer barrel (Get a fixed outer: Deepfire, AIP, Nineball, and Airsoft Surgeon make fixed outer barrel)

The unnecessary upgrades are all mostly external parts:
Cocking handle, safety, grip safety, magwell, etc
Note: Hi-flow valves aren't necessary but they do help the FPS and gas efficiency
This setup (inner barrel, nozzle, recoil spring, etc will probably net you about 380+ FPS. Most fields I know don't check pistol FPS, but do the right thing. :)

Because this is a Tokyo Marui hi capa, 90% of upgrades and parts will fit. I currently have a black and gold hi capa: a gold slide, gold magwell, and a gold beaver tail safety. I am planning on installing a PDI inner barrel when they come back in stock anywhere.

Magazines: The Tokyo Marui magazine is a bit heavier than WE or KJW mags. Also, WE mags don't lock back my slide, it may be the recoil spring but even without the aluminum gold slide, the WE magazine couldn't lock back my stock plastic slide. It was fine because I am planning on short stroking and installing one of those sight mounts anyway. But, for me anyway, the slide lock doesn't function with WE mags. Just a dud? I mean they're only 20 bucks anyway.

Overall:
The Tokyo Marui hi capa 5.1 is the best pistol to buy because of the upgrades and the customizable options. If you get this pistol, it will last you for years. I haven't lubed mine since I got it which was 2013ish and it still works fine. I'm not saying to not lube it. I'm just extremely lucky. This pistol is the best thing I ever bought in my airsoft career. I am actually selling my M4 and MP5 for pistol parts. :)

Get it now this pistol is beautiful.
Also, don't hold it like Death Kid in Soul eater. I tried it and the slide couldn't blowback as well. The gas sprayed all over my face too.
by Austin L. on 2013-07-04 21:55:47
"50 out of 5 stars. Second best airsoft purchase I have ever made. This is my third gas blowback pistol I've ever owned (other two are a KJW M9A1 and a WE 5.1" Hi-Capa) and I can easily say that this blows them out of the water.

Pros
Metal lower frame (not typical of a Tokyo Marui)
Comfortable plastic grip
Metal chrome hammer
Metal chrome spring guide
Metal black spring guide plug
Metal black safeties
Metal beavertail safety
Metal black mag release
Metal black slide release
Adjustable metal iron sights (front sight has a white dot, rear sights don't have any dots).
Metal hop up that is very well-constructed and provides a great air seal.
Comes with a metal lower rail that you can put on.
Comes with a unjamming/cleaning rod.
Comes with two replacement followers in case the followers break in your mag.
Accuracy is fantastic. When the hop up is adjusted right, you can easily hit targets from 200 feet.
I've chronoed this, and it shoots 285 with .20 gram BBs and duster gas (this will have a higher FPS with propane).
Light trigger pull.
Lightweight (because of plastic slide and outer barrel).

Cons
Plastic trigger
Plastic chrome outer barrel (not that big of a deal, really)
Plastic slide (I actually prefer the plastic slide, but most seem to be metal slide-fanboys)
Brass inner barrel (nothing really wrong with that, but it could be steel or aluminum; mostly putting this since there's not that many cons)
Better to use duster gas than propane because of the plastic slide. This is really its biggest con, as propane will give you a faster FPS and a faster RoF (cycles faster), but if you want the plastic slide to live as long as it can, use duster gas. To use duster gas, you have to get a duster gas adapter; you can get one by buying the Airsoft Innovations propane adapter kit. It comes with a duster gas adapter, a propane adapter, and silicon.

Overall, great pistol. I am now officially a Tokyo Marui fanboy.
by daniel a. on 2012-05-03 19:58:14
"I love this gun it performs amazingly. But I do suggest you get a metal slide becuase when using the plastic slide with Green gas it can break the slide catch. I personally ordered a Guarder metal slide for it but you will have to do some filing on the slide so you get a nice clean slide cycle. If its too tight you will use more gas with less performance. Besides that I love the gun it kicks hard, its accurate and shoots far.
by Chris E. on 2011-06-22 16:20:37
"Buy this gun! Perfect out of the box. Feels great, handles great. Buy extra mags (get the WE).
But if you do want to upgrade think:
Power - 6.01 tightbore, bucking, piston head, high-flo valves for the mags.
Reliability - metal slide and outer barrel, loading nozzle, springs.
Cosmetic - expect a plethora of available upgrades, from mag wells to grips and of course, optics.
Evike has all of the above!
by Jack L. on 2009-05-05 20:26:55
"Once again Tokyo Marui trumps all other GBBs in the market (except for maybe KWA)
Pros:
- Crisp clean kick
- Accurate, due to famous Tokyo Marui hop up system
- Easy target acquisition, due to large dovetail sights
- 30(+1) magazine capacity (one in chamber)
- large gas reservoir due to double-stack magazine
- Good gas efficiency (due to plastic slide)
- Tokyo Marui hardiness
- Good platform gun
- Extremely upgradable
- Trademarks (not modeled after a real gun, but nice nevertheless)
- Its a Tokyo Marui

Cons:
- Slide, trigger, grips, outer barrel all plastic
- Gun was designed to be run on 134a gas
- The gun WILL break on constant abuse of green gas or propane, it should last awhile but note that things WILL wear out and break
by parker g. on 2009-03-10 15:54:38
"is this able to use propane? and can you get extra mags for it? if so and i buy it i am def. going to get the rail system for it!

Webmaster: Propane is not recommended for Tokyo Marui pistols because they are all plastic. For mags, you can use Tokyo Marui 5.1 mags.
by PAUL C. on 2009-02-18 22:12:52
"i freaking love this gun the only prob is that the clip had a gas leek after about a month....it is one of the most accuret guns i won...thats tokyo marui for you! great gun get it!!!
by john g. on 2008-12-21 18:39:02
"i got this gun best ever can u use green gas for it?

Webmaster: Yes. Marui May say 134A. (due to its plastic slide and regulations in japan) but most USA players use green gas and it will work much better. (faster wear and tear too, but then all the parts can be found including metal slides so green gas is the way to go.) You will never use 134A even if they are available after using green gas, because of the power, kick difference.
by PAUL C. on 2008-11-27 11:13:12
"im getting this for xmas and i cant wait!! i held this at the airsoft store buy my house and it has great feel people say its to wide! BS its perfict i will right a real review wen i get this lol!

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 17 reviews)

Pages:  1  2