Reviews: GHK G5 Airsoft Hard Kick Gas Blowback GBB Rifle - Black


20 Customer Reviews
Model: GR-GHK-G5-BK

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Walter S. on 2016-07-07 15:40:44
"One word: WOW!
Pros n' cons:

-40rd magazines last longer than you think indoors
-cheap (not quality, but price wise. This is because coupons can be used!)
-Stock range + Accuracy rivals my TM aug HC
-Takes AEG barrels and Buckings, as well as nubs (flat/R hop, anyone?)
-Kits available
-Zero cooldown on a mag in full auto
-good ROF
-semi is crisp
-Super comfy with AFG

-HK slaps will break the charging handle
-Not much rail space on the sides
-Receiver cracks? (I believe the Gen 2 fixed this, and I have not had this issue.)
-Took a week to get to my house
-No, it is NOT the scorpion EVO. People ask and it can be annoying.

Verdict: Buy it :D
by Ana Liza C. on 2016-04-26 18:49:04
"Great GBBR. Has a very nice kick and is very light (without the magazine. That's where all the weight is.) The magazines are great and have a nice cool down rate. You can fire a magazine on full auto no problem. Gas consumption is pretty good. I usually go through 2-3 mags full. Here's my pros and cons list:


Great kick
Good mag cool down rate
Sound of the bolt
They also send you a FREE metal flash hider.


Magazines are a PAIN to reload with provided speed loader
Speed loader cracked
Mag is a bit too heavy
Mag feels different putting gas in (just for me not sure about others)
by Shane M. on 2016-04-06 11:51:44
"Absolutely amazing gbbr. Great price point, great quality. A few mods are very recommended.
1. The mags need some sanding on the polymer injection points as the mags will get stuck in the magwell otherwise.
2. Get the Hephaestus aluminum charging handle if you want to HK slap it. The stock polymer one will snap if you are not careful.
Other than that everything is solid. The stock has a tiny bit of wobble but that's what allows it to be folded into the catch. Irons are dead on out of the box. Accuracy is amazing for such a short barrel, hand size group at 40yds with .28s but drops off quickly after that, hard to hit a man size target at 50 yds.
by Patrick A. on 2016-04-02 23:21:19
"This was my first GBBR purchase after having many issues with aegs. I am new to the gas blow back rifle world but I have had a few issues with this gun.

-epic kick; the kick on this gun is amazing it feels like nothing other, the name says it all
- decent range; I have it all stock right now and took it to a pretty big field and it preformed pretty well
weight; could be a pro or con but the gun itself is really light being all polymer where it is needed
-construction; from the heavy use I have given it the past few months it has stayed in good shape. I take care of it but still use it alot.
- they provide a converter for an m4 stock so you can buy just a buffer tube and stock for a quick exchange
THE MAGS: where do I begin with the mags,
-they are just a pain in the butt to reload,
-they dont hold but 20 rounds without being impossible to put more in, they have feeding issues,
-I have had a few of them jam on me already,
- there is issues with the gas tanks leaking out of the box(you have to manually tighten them)

- the bolt has to be cocked back in order to feed right( this is annoying during quick reloads in a fire fight)
- the bolt catch is a bit flimsy; it feels like the lip on it can chip off at any given time if not careful
- the bolt lever is polymer and feels cheap
- the outer barrel is polymer so it is tricky to take he orange flash hider off even though they provide a black flash hider

overall for the price being a cheaper gun this was a good purchase knowing that there are alot of aftermarket parts for it, I do not like the mags or the feeding style but I am more of a m4 fan.
by phuc n. on 2016-02-26 15:07:29
"BEST GBBR FOR THE MONEY EVER!!! A hard kicking gbbr for under 300? F*#k yes!
Great construction and ergonomics. As the shortest configuration it is absolutely blast to shoot and recoils harder than an LM4, BY FAR!!! weighs less than the magazine as a pdw and the 2 extension kits bumps the fps to godly level. With a simple wheel hop up unit that surrounds the barrel it allows very consistence hop up and with stock bucking and barrel it reached out through thick brushes and made contact with someone with only their head exposed at 40 yards so no need for a tbb or new bucking to be competitive. Magazines are by far the best I have ever used, very minimal cool down and affects from weather.

Magazines are a bit expensive but won't give out on you unless you fail to maintain them properly, ~38-39 rounds will keep a smile on your face while surpressing even p* noobs.

*As long as you shoulder the gun and do not fold the stock while shooting this gun will keep going until you decide to stop, and even then with the crack in the lower it will still keep going. absolute workhorse. replacement parts are hard to come by but there are licensed dealers in canada (wish EVIKE would carry more parts) that has replacement parts if you need it.

**This gun and even the GHK M4 was meant for hardcore milsim that wants the feel and realism out of airsoft (outside of recoil from a Daytona) and is a great addition for any gbbr master race.
by Spencer H. on 2016-02-15 18:46:59
"First GBBR, so far, extremely happy.

1. Excellent gas efficiency
2. Sturdy magazines
3. Very customizable
4. Incredible trigger
5. Very sturdy rifle
1. Charging handle is pretty flimsy
2. Magazines are ridiculously over priced, like all GBBR magazines (biggest reason I haven't bought one sooner)

Over all, If you are looking for an excellent GBBR (and can stomach the magazines being a 1/5th of the cost) this is the one to pick.
by michael a. on 2015-10-27 15:00:50
"This gun is absolutly amazing. It has an amazing build quality for a polymer, it shoots great with propane and .25 gram bb's. And the kick is absolutly amazing, it kicks atleast twice as hard as a 22 lr.

About nine games in i found out the problem that just destroys your gun. It irritated me so much because i kept my gun in great condition but the main default is the gun is all polymer. So because the gun has so much recoil it split my lower reciever right behind the fire selector. This mad me so mad so just a for warning, other than that the gun is amazing!

Hark kick
Shoots great/Hard
Great build
No Wobble
Very accurate
Great range

Lower reciever splits....
by Gavin B. on 2015-09-21 18:04:00
"Just got this and the carbine kit and it is fantastic. Installing the kit was easy to do thanks to the construction of the gun and the polymer feels light but not like a somewhat better quality plastic so much as an actual polymer. The default stock is also really nice and the fact that the gun also already comes with an m4 buffer tube to put m4 stocks on is really nice! Even better is the efficiency of the gas system. I can charge these mags for only 8 seconds and they can empty an entire mag. However, this gun has a few MINOR cons.

-This might be up to opinion, but the default iron sights are a bit small for a peephole sight and I changed the rear sight out.

-The magazines are VERY stiff to load and as such they require a few loads to loosen the spring.

-Also, the mags have a slightly larger lip so the adapter that comes with it to fit the lip of the magazine for speed loaders is the only one I can find that fits, so DONT lose it!.

-On top of this, because of the stiffness of the mags, you need to put some force onto the mags to not have a speed loader pop back out when pushing the plunger in to load BB's. It is a bit more tedious, but I find hand loading to be a bit more consistent although when you get to about 24 BB's the spring is a bit to tight to hand feed anymore. Get some more mags to compensate I guess.

Apart from this, great gun. If you want a good gas blowback, this is the way to go.
by Chaney L. on 2015-08-24 19:08:26
"This gbbr is beautiful! Bought it before I got out for summer break and used it over my summer and this thing is a beast!

-HARD crisp kick
-Loud (especially when you have an amp on it)
-Strong build
-Easy to open up and do maintenance on it
-Very uncommon on fields so you'll be recognized

by Josh S. on 2015-06-22 14:38:34
"The GHK G5 is a lightweight, reliable, and efficient platform great for cqb, but with its hopup, it can easily be a field gun. It has a fast rof, and very accurate. I destroyed everybody with it, and got lots of compliments of how cool it looks.

The lower reciever cracks. It is time for everyone to realize that it is a consumable part. On samoon, (ghk's retailor) they lowered the price of a new lower to $15 instead of $40 because of this issue. It is a PAIN IN THE BUTT to take out all the parts in the lower and reinstall them into a new one as the selector switch uses a 1mm allen key to take off. I havn't gotten a chance to find one, but a friend installed my new reciever. You might beable to gorilla glue your reciever back together to fix it, and sand down some edges, but there is a way that can atleast help stop it.

1. Get epoxy,
2. Fill the back of the lower reciever (where it has reinforcement plastic thingys)
3. Use a buffer tube adapter with the stock, as it cracks easier with the stock folded.

I gave this a 3/5 but it would've been a 5/5 if not for the lower reciever. I would honestly buy another one but if you want one make sure you find a tech that can replace the lower for you if you are not very diy inclined.
by Tom H. on 2015-06-18 15:38:20
"These GHK products are simply fantastic. The G5 is perhaps the best one yet. Gas efficiency, build quality and in the case of the G5, price are unbeatable. A small, light weight, efficient and great customization platform.
by Brad M. on 2015-03-06 12:27:03
"This gun is amazing! After using it in a few skirmishes it has held up nicely

No stock wobble, rail wobble, etc
Easy to perform maintenance
Shoots straight and hard
Unbelievable gas efficiency
Offers customization option with DMR and carbine kit

Hop is a pain to adjust
Mags are expensive
You don't have it yet

Buy this!

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2