Reviews: H&K UMP Competition Series Airsoft AEG Rifle with metal gearbox by Umarex - Black


21 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-UREX-2275001
Location: A4-011

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 21 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Anthony C. on 2015-11-21 12:22:07
"Great beginer gun wonderful aeg great for cqb would recomend
by Rafael C. on 2015-10-27 07:10:39
"Internals are of low quality.
Zinc alloy v3 gearbox(non-radius window)
Plastic loading nozzle(no o-ring)
Plastic piston w/ 1 metal tooth
Plastic piston head with 4 ports(
Plastic cylinder head w/ single o-ring
Non-ferrous metal bushings
Compressed powder metal gears(weak) 18:1
Aluminum full 'no ports' cylinder(doesn't make sense considering barrel is a short 205mm)
Micro-switch trigger(extremely long trigger pull)
Motor has low torque and slow rpm

The good from all this bad? It can be upgraded and repaired. But, considering this plus the not-so-durable ABS body, I feel this should be priced closer to $100
by Christopher T. on 2015-09-16 08:33:38
"Great gun! I own an AK-47 AEG, and a G3 AEG, and I prefer this gun. Attached I have a flashlight, silencer, red dot sight and fore grip which makes the gun look very tactical. This gun is a close quarters gun, not really valuable in a lot of open outdoor game but a great gun for ambushing or flanking. Also great to use on a vehicle.

I made some changes to the gun:
-I took of the orange tip
-I took off a section in the front of the gun that was meant for a sling (I use the back for my 1 clip sling)
-Adding a silencer on this gun is kind of vital due to the fact that the barrel isn't the best length for an airsoft gun

-Great accuracy
-Can be used left handed and right handed (a shooter should be comfortable to shoot both ways)
-Light weight (heavy with all the attachments I have but still lighter than other players guns with the same attachments)
-Foldable stock is good in CQC/CQB and vehicles
-I get a lot of compliments and people coming up asking me about the gun
-I have had it for almost a year now and not a single problem with the gun, but had problems with the high cap mags
-Comes with Hop-up system

-High caps suck and have gear problems which cannot be fixed really (get about 5 mid caps)
-Buy a better battery and use the one it comes with as an extra
-Really great gun, and you should get it!
by sam r. on 2015-05-27 22:32:52
"This gun is OK. The quality of the plastic is extremely questionable. Because of the way the battery door connects in the back and the low quality plastic you can be assured that at some point it will break. If you are buying this to put another $60 of internals in because you want a UMP very badly (like me) then this is Ok. Only OK. Things like not having a rubber stock pad are frustrating and the plastic I just don't think will hold up in the long run.

That being said it doesn't weight much at all and with some upgrades will be a more than fine gun. The hicap doesn't even click into the mag well but the 110 midcaps click in perfectly. Just be aware when you purchase this what you are getting into and don't set your expectations too high.
by Matthew H. on 2014-12-25 15:56:08
"This gun is one of the best I have used. Good strong polymer and metal rails. My favorite smg.
Pros: compact
Metal rails
Great rof
Great rail space
Great fps
Good battery
Cons: the hi cap mag is horrid. Buy a new one. Besides that no cons
by Sandi R. on 2014-09-08 06:55:38
"Great gun not the best though .
Great Plastic body
Decent FPS
Decent Sights

Terrible Hi Caps
No silencer is ever available.
by kyle c. on 2014-06-02 15:36:59
"This was my first gun, and it is awesome! But thats exactly what it is, a beginners gun. If you love the ump 45 platform get the elite version, and have a 200-300 dollar budget thats the gun for you; but back to the review.

light wait
looks sweat!!
collapsible back
CQB ready
comes with battery that i still have and use
fast rate of fire
good trigger response (with the proper battery)
grip is grate
rails are perfect for all attachments

terrible magazine (mine got jammed within first 1000 shots (might just be mine, but its easily fixed with mid-caps))
non functioning charging handle
charger sucks

As i said its perfect for beginners, and is easily a grate gun for any small child or large adult!
by Jared M. on 2014-02-15 16:06:09
"I chose the UMP .45 platform because I wanted to stand out from a world of M4's and AK's. so I gravitated to a gun that seems more exotic, I saw a famas, still not good enough. I saw the UMP .45 and I have never seen one before being used so I decided to pick it up. Love at first site.

metal outer barrel assembly
ver.3 reinforced gearbox
low price
great accuracy
definitely higher FPS than advertised.
solid feeding.

small cheap plastic battery compartment, only cheap plastic otherwise great polymer.
non-functioning charging handle
not a rubber butt bad so that's a lie

all the cons I have, get a 9.6 it shoots BB's of death, 200 feet away I sprayed a DMR expert 17 times, not 315-330 more like 350-400. I would buy this gun. PROS outweigh the CONS by a longshot, not to mention the price!!!!
by Jackson P. on 2014-01-19 14:21:35
"Fairly good gun for a while. I don't put much wear on my gear, but the bottom rail mounts are now stripped after taking it off twice. It fell of on the field, but I was able to spot it. I could superglue it, but it'd be a challenge to put anything on the bottom rail, seeing as you can't slide anything onto it.
Solid Feeding
FPS is low enough for CQB and high enough to use on fields.
Metal Rails
Iron Sights too low
Polymer body is weak
Non-functioning charging handle
Only Hi-Caps
No barrel threads

All in all, it's an okay starting gun, but there are some much better options out there for SMGs.
by Joseph I. on 2013-10-06 08:00:25
"I have had this gun for about 3 months now and love the ump platform. Outside body is good and sturdy and have no complaints, but would recommend the threaded metal outer barrel upgrade. I would buy this gun over and over again as it is the only ump platform currently available. I have had the gun apart and have had to make many mods to bring it up to the quality I prefer. The inner barrel is garbage and needs to be replaced. the compression in the cylinder in non existent and will need to be upgraded, and is you are going to run a 120 spring change the motor. Gears and other internal parts are of decent quality and should last quite a while. Overall I would highly recommend this aeg but be prepared to put about $100 in after market parts if you are like me and like a quality internally working aeg. I would defiantly buy this gun again. I would not be happy with the gun stock however but not a big deal to me.
by ALFREDO H. on 2013-09-15 09:41:42
"i bought this gun over the summer ans when i got it i was happy to have it but its loud and shoots hard but the trigger respones on semi is bad it wouldnt shoot everytime when i shot it and i used a 9.6 1500 mh stick type and its very good the thing that bugs me is the chargeing handle but its not a problem and evike should have gas upms and like ump stuff and have there items in stock cause i will buy alot of stuff for my ump .
by Gwen T. on 2013-08-02 14:18:33
"This was my first skirmish ready AEG and I am not too happy about it. It was good for $160 but there is just some things that could've been better.

Sound is pretty loud, but nothing to get so excited about.
Polymer is high quality and is lightweight without being cheap.
Stock folds easily and unfolds easily.
Hop-up is easy to adjust.
Good battery compartment size.
Quick change spring system
Charging handle does not work (minor)
Only hi-caps are made (Con to me but might not be for you)
Accuracy and range is ok
ROF isn't good for a smg.
Sights are too low for use of a mesh mask or paintball mask.
Trigger assembly and fire selector are loose.
Trigger response is ok.
Battery compartment door broke.
At first I couldn't put it back together.

I would not recommend to a guy that can't do upgrades, because there is many things to be done to this so it can be a good smg.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 21 reviews)

Pages:  1  2