Reviews: IWI Licensed TAVOR TAR-21 Airsoft AEG Rifle by Umarex w/ Metal Gearbox (Black / Competition Series)

$174.95

21 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-2278050

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 21 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Niles D. on 2016-03-27 20:21:58
"Owned the gun for around a year and for $175 you're getting a solid machine. This is not a day one review, I've put a few thousand rounds through it and played at multiple fields.

Pros: Nails the big ones
-Easy access to hop up
-Spring decompression system on bolt release switch
-solid range
-good accuracy
-flip up sights
-takes M4 mags and not mag picky

Cons: Bothers me on some little things
-Location of mag release has caused some issues on the field
-Rear pins got kinda loose, never became an issue but bothered me a bit
-somewhat of an awkward gun to hold and use, definitely not the smoothest weapon platform
-stock fire rate could leave some more to be desired
-tight battery space

All in all I would certainly recommend this gun. Had no issues at all with it working and i played in some dusty areas.
by A.J. A. on 2015-12-29 14:00:12
"Had this for a few months now and it still serves its purpose well, just wish I could find more replacement parts. Can't complain with the power, shoots about 350-380 fps after messing around with different weights of ammo. (use .20g for range/ .25g for impact) After some weather wear from dust, there might be a slight issue with the magazine feed, but with semi-maintenance its not too big an issue. Uses JG m4 mags in case you need to find spares. Great battery efficiency with a 9.6v, (take your pick on whatever brand) lasts a whole day of action. Rail isn't much to work with but I don't prefer a lot of attachments on a bullpup rifle, basic red dot is fine enough. Not much else to consider about this gun other than the lack of replacement pieces. For tinkers this gun is interesting to experiment with so long as you aren't using anything too strong.

P.S. - Really would like to find other external pieces to replace on this gun like iron sights and charging handles.
by Jefferson R. on 2015-09-08 07:57:16
"I finally got the gun to work so now I feel I can write a review. This gun is awful! It worked for a solid hour and a half then stopped working all together. Hoping it was a small issue I opened the gearbox up to find the problem. The motor was missing teeth, there were spring missing, the gears didn't line up or sit right, and the air seal was awful. I have spent about a month working on this to try to get it to function again, and now that it shoots again I get about 7 feet out of it. I am very disappointed with the gun, and would recommend you steer clear of this one.

Pros
1. Lightweight
2. Nice iron sights
3. Compact
4. Amazing battery space
5. Easy to access Hop-up

Cons:
1. Very difficult to take apart first time
2. Broken Motor
3. very low FPS
4. Wrong gears in box
5. Missing springs (Can't find replacements)
6. Terrible air seal
by Jadie S. on 2015-08-23 07:40:06
"This gun is a great starter gun with a whole lot of good features.

PROS
Easy to access hop-up
Cool functioning charging handle
just as long a an mp5 with an additional 8+ inches on the barrel
great for CQB
320-360 fps
takes M4 mags
bull pup
easy to access battery compartment
threads on barrel

CONS
need to buy rails if you want to put more on it than an rds
a little wierd to take apart (Not bad once figured out)
mag may fall out if your hand slips back


Great bullpup starter gun, would definetly recomend
by Daniel C. on 2015-06-09 22:28:05
"Do you want a affordable bullpup AEG? Look no further! This amazing platform offers multiple things.
1. Compact Design allowing for more control over the weapon.
2. Easy to operate weapon that takes little to no effort to use.
3. Nice battery space.
4. Excepts magazines from different brands
5. Great range!
6. Steady FPS around 310
But like other things it has a bad side!
1. Back heavy like a **************
2. All plastic. I would have liked a metal body but the plastic is nice.
3. No front rails for PEQ or grips
Other than that its great. Just buy it for the alone times and shooty times
by Heidi O. on 2015-04-23 20:11:07
"best gun i ever totally recomand it for new players best gun in range i have
by Bryan E. on 2014-05-07 07:08:39
"I got to try this gun out in the shop and instantly bought it. Fps is a little slow (380 stock) but it has quite the accuracy at long range. Taking it apart does suck but once you get the hang of it its easy. Its plastic outer shell but its solid plastic. No wiggling room. Overall awesome gun out of the box! I tossed 70$ worth of upgrades into it (motor,spring,piston,air nozzle) and its one of the better guns on the field. Also we dont have too many that come back into the shop to be fixed, so theyre durable.

Pros:
Great out of the box
Accurate
Lightweight
No wobbling
Takes standard m4 mags (yay for cheap mags!)
Easy spring change
Hidden long barrel (hence why the accuracy is so nice)

Cons:
Back heavy (personal preference)
Trigger is kind of far forward from the grip (small hands may not be a fan)
Internals will not last if you only upgrade one or two things (if you want a better spring, you must upgrade a few other things)

Overall great gun! Id highly reccomend it!

Source:
Been playing for several years
Captain of a team
Work in a shop fixing guns
by Luke S. on 2014-04-02 18:25:11
"I received the Elite Force Tavor two days ago. So far, I believe it's a good all-around gun after testing it multiple times.

Pros:
Good velocity (for CQB)
Decent range
Metal where it needs to be (outer/inner barrel, gearbox, trigger, and dust cover)
Comes with a battery (8.4 v)
Very quiet
Accurate at around 30 yards
Compatible with M4 (or v2 gearbox) gears and springs

Cons:
Mostly ABS plastic externals
Can't fit some magazines
A bit rear-heavy, but you get used to it

After all, the Elite Force Tavor-21 competition series has quite a few advantages. It is a very unique design that can compete with most airsoft guns in any sort of game (hence the name).
by John L. on 2013-12-20 15:22:44
"So far this is a wonderful gun. a tad bit backheavy, but that is to be expected from a bullpup. Fun to shoot so far, still tweaking the hop a bit. The only problem I have run into so far is that the gun doesnt seem to want to take magazines other than the one it came with (the mag lock wont lock properly with echo 1 M4 mags). High ROF with a 9.6, but you get an electrical smell from the stock when you fire. havent skirmished with it yet, will most likely be an awesome skirmish gun.

PROS
Good weight
Nice solid composite body
The metal is solid
High ROF
looks crazy
near perfect match to the real weapon

CONS
Wont seem to take echo M4 mags
Electrical smell after short periods of firing
its "that gun" from call of duty.

So all around awesome, Good looking gun, unfortunately they put it into a modern warfare game so now its just "that gun from MWF2". still a very nice gun.
by Stella K. on 2013-12-20 15:18:24
"This gun a is an incredibley well made gun. The polymer that its made of feels unbreakable in your hands. The accuracy is simply amazing as the bulpup design allows a very long barrell. I can see myself being able to dominate in any scenario be it CQB or Field play.

The Good
Compact (for an assualt rifle)
Excellent external build
pretty good ROF
amazing accuracy
battery installation is realativley easy

The Bad
None so far
by Stella K. on 2013-12-20 15:17:34
"Ive owned this weapon for a few months now and I have to say it has held up incredibly well. Now the price tag may seem a bit unreasonable at first but I can with the utmost confidence that every dollar is well spent.

Short Story
I went to an outdoor airsoft skirmish sporting this weapon and was very impressed. The length of the barrel due to the bulpup design of the rifle allowed me to put up an accurate wall of bbs. And because the weapon itself is quite compact, I found it very easy to manuver in close quarters spaces. Near the beginning of the war the ever feared clouds rolled in and delivered upon the mass of airsoft players and unrelenting rain. However, not once was I worried as the Tar was easily able to cope with the strenious conditions and kept firing throughout the entire event. I can also say that the constant "Hey dude, nice Tar" was a nice benefit.

The overall construction of this weapon is incredibaly solid, Ive never felt as though it might break at any point during my use with it. Battery installation is a snap, as the butt plate easily opens up to reveal the compartment. One problem Ive had though is that some of the M4 mags Ive purchased do not fit into the magwell quite as snugly as I would have liked, but this is just my opinion.

Get this gun!!! It is awsome
by Patrick C. on 2013-12-20 15:14:26
"I have owned this model Tavor for close to a month now. The performance is pretty good, but does not have the same range as my Ares G36. The battery compartment is a tad small, but more than enough to fit my MadBull LiPo. The gun is indeed difficult to take apart, highly recommend that this be done by a pro if you are not very proficient. The Ares quick change spring feature lets you change the FPS of the rifle in as little as two minutes, allowing for incredible game flexibility.

I have decided to upgrade the internals, as the piston is not very sturdy and a want to juice as much performance as I can from this little big gun.

Pros:
* rock solid externals
* awesome performance out of the box
* Ares quick change spring feature
* Unique looks on the field

Cons
* difficult to take apart
* small battery compartment
* gearbox and hop-up are one unit
* known for some problems with weak piston and air seal

Overall:
One of my favorite rifles. I recommend it to anyone who has the skill to use it and the patience to tweak it right.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 21 reviews)

Pages:  1  2