Reviews: FN Herstal Licensed P90 Full Size Metal Gearbox Airsoft AEG

$165.00 $130.00

22 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-200934

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 22 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Dallas F. on 2016-06-28 10:27:58
"First off it does come with a mini 9.6 battery and i don't think it will fit a large, but there are custom p90 batteries out there. Second off READ THE SPECIFICATIONS PEOPLE IT SAYS RIGHT THERE!!!!!!!!!!

Now for the review
First thing I noticed when i got it was a big ugly orange plastic tip, but to my there was a black p90 style bird cage flash hider made of metal provided in the box. The plastic flash hider is glued onto the threads so I had to take a pair of pliers and rip it off then sit there and scrape the threads for about half an hour until the real flash hider would screw on all the way with out any trouble. Second thing I noticed was weight and size. It is on the complete opposite end of the spectrum as far as weight and size goes compared to my m14 EBR!!! It would take 3 of these to equal one m14 EBR. Third thing I noticed when I picked it up was that the iron sights are horrible they obviously were not meant to be for real use other than maybe as a back up. They are comparable to a AK style sight except shorter and even harder to use. My p90 is actually shooting at 410 which is way off the 350 fps that it is supposed to have. This is bad news for any one who wants this for cqb only. I am actually going to get a silencer and a 455mm tight bore so that it will work for cqb and medium ranges. The body is plastic yes, but it doesn't feel cheep and that is how the real one is so its not really a draw back. I was a little upset to find that unlike the real p90 it is not ambidextrous the clip and the charging handle can be used with either hand, but the fire selector switch only has A 1 S as compared to the real one which has A 1 S 1 A. The feature that made up for this to me was the double trigger on Auto setting half squeeze will do semi full will do auto. The gun does come with 2 low cap mags and a speed loader which was nice because I was afraid I would have to get one. Some of the seems on my gun are quite bad the one that runs under neath the magazine is quite bad and the on the upper receiver is not to good either. I will give this gun a 9/10 because it is a great gun for cqb and has the ability to be a great gun for mid range too with a little upgrade,but since it is unusual gun vests and magazines a expensive.
by Brandon C. on 2016-06-28 10:27:28
"I for one would rather buy the echo1 than the mauri. Not bad talking mauri, just my opinion. The echo1 is $155. The Mauri, $280. That is a $125 difference. You could buy the echo1, take the $125 you saved, and use it to put parts into your echo1 to make it even better than the Mauri. Besides, look at the stock fps levels between the two... 280 (Mauri), and 350 (echo1). If you are buying a p90 and are keeping it stock, the echo1 is an obvious choice... especially if you are a beginner or want a back up gun. If it's that much of a clone, it should handle well enough to hold its own.
by Jarek D. on 2016-06-28 10:26:57
"P90 is my system of choice and i have several. i have to say that this is one of the best P90s on the market. in the overall, i say it beats a TM P90.

pros:
- solid body/receiver
- great trigger response
- QD spring gearbox (solid gearbox and internals as well)
- great accuracy and range (never measured it, but if its of any testament, my KA P90 was keeping up with my friend's Krytac CRB)

cons:
- Echo 1/JG mags are a very tight squeeze and vice versa. all of that is remedied though if you shave down the flat lip on the mag that meets the mag catch lip by a millimeter or two.
- cant fit a 9.6v NiMH mini like the Echo 1. a butterfly is still a rather type squeeze.
- the "current model" upper receiver is not compatible with extended RIS attachment without modification.
- the upper receiver is actually the receiver for the P90 Integrated Red Dot System but with just the new RIS in place of it. however a option with that particular RDS is not available or even as an aftermarket piece.
by Josh L. on 2016-06-28 10:26:15
"It's a major upgrade compared to my old Echo 1 E90. The main body's build quality is so much more solid and there's no squeaky plastic anywhere. FN Herstal Trademarks are engraved in the mold and stands out nicely. The upper receiver is made of metal with three picatinny rails on the top and sides. There's even 3 back up iron sights; one peephole sight down the middle and 2 "pistol" sights on either side. The full metal gearbox even has a quick change spring for changing between indoor and outdoor fields. Underneath the orange flash hider are -14mm negative CCW threads for putting a muzzle brake or mock suppressor on. The hop up door is hidden underneath the thumb hole. It's an easy to adjust wheel unit and it is best to adjust it before putting on gloves. The battery compartment is very simple. Push the button and slide the cover off. The battery space is tight, but can fit a 9.6v stick/brick OR butterfly/ nun chuck. (The wires just need to be nicely tucked away in order to fit)

The gun does come with a hi-cap mag, which feeds about a one-third of the bbs before having to wind it up again. It fed completely only ONCE during my tests. The m4 magwell converter works, but in order to install it, you have to unscrew the top rail with a hex screw. Not a big deal. I highly recommend mid-cap mags to get the best performance. (I use the 68rd/70rd mags)

Like other P-90s, this one suffers the same semi-auto problem. Just wrap electrical tape around the metal trigger bar to decrease the length of pull. (Or leave the gun on full auto and pull the trigger half way for semi)

This is an overall awesome gun! It's definitely the best P-90 on the market!

PROS:
Ambidextrous controls for left and right handed shooters
Lightweight
Superb build quality
Comfortable/ Ergonomic design
Quick change spring
Real FN Trademarks
-14mm negative CCW barrel threads
Plenty of rail space for a flashlight and optic
Long inner barrel because it's bullpup
Mock charging handle

CONS:
Honestly, the hi-cap mags are unreliable. Get mid-caps or the m4 magwell converter
by Aniwat R. on 2016-06-28 10:25:22
"This is a great beginner gun if you want great range and accuracy. I replaced the barrell with 405mm 6.01 tighter barrel, it does not improve FPS like .1% But, it certainly improve accuracy and steadier shot at 120+ feet. I also changed out my spring after I did a calculation on spring rate compared to original spring rate. Original spring give you only 370fps with .2 gram bb. I got an M130 210% spring, and It now shoot steady at 420fps. It hurts a lot with out breaking internal parts and still maintain great Rof.
Another improvement is 3-9 x 40 scope. I zero in the scope and able to shoot really tight group in full auto at 120 yards.

Definitely a recommended this gun. Buy this one, good buy for money.

Falcon.
by Preston B. on 2016-06-28 10:24:49
"Build really well and shoots around 11 rps and shoots every bit of 380.
My mag did come broken but the sent a new one immediately with 2 day shipping for free.
if you put a
http://www.evike.com/products/29458/
it will throw out around 17-18 rps it does fit.
the gun shoots great and hurts BAD!!!
by Brian C. on 2016-06-28 10:24:17
"I HEART this gun!! My favorite!

Great for CQB and indoor ranges!
Gun fires at 370 fps semi / 330 fps @ 11 rof auto right out of the box.
After warranty expired, swapped stock spring with M100 for 330 fps.
I would recommend the red dot below because it's design just flows with the lines of the gun.
http://www.evike.com/products/42182/

Full metal internals and metal tri-rail.
Version 6 gearbox. EASIEST gearbox to work on and upgrade.
EASY SWAPPING of spring. NO DISASSEMBLY NEEDED to swap spring!
Hi-cap King Arms mag spring feeds the entire mag with no problems.
LiPo ready (of course precautions like MOSFET and fuse should be considered)
You have A LOT of gearbox space. MUCH much space!
Tool included to adjust front sight for elevation.

Now the bad things I hate to admit:
Windage adjustment is a pain in the a$$. Need a big and wide flathead screwdriver.
Trigger is big, fat, wide, and bullpup style. Will take some getting used to when coming from an M4 style trigger.
Special map pouches needed. Regular old M4 style mag carriers will give problems.
Top rail MUST be taken out and replaced in order to fit a P90 1500 rnd box mag.

BUT I STILL LOVE THIS GUN!!!!!
by Monse D M. on 2016-06-28 10:23:49
"this i my review of the gun

pros
good rof with 8.4
small, and mags are very unique
plenty of rail conversion kits and tac rail
small, perfect for cqb
has unique look, and a very different look

cons

small battery compartment
hard to fit extra mags in
you have to buy special mag pouches
by Yuan H. on 2016-06-28 10:23:17
"I have owned this gun for a little over 2 months now and have taken it to 4 CQB games, and it is by far the best CQB weapon I have ever handled. First pros and cons, then my take.

Pros:
Quality metal upper receiver, good paint as well
Great quailty abs lower receiver
"sticky" hop up, it wont move unless you make it move
pre-included H-nub
very quite
balanced, easily used one handed

Cons:
fire selector is a bit too sticky. Getting it to semi with one finger takes skill
form factor, a bit small for bigger guys (i am 5 10 and it fits me fine for reference)
dual stage trigger is extremely finicky
as with all P90s, the high caps dont work for shift.
iron sights are tiny.
P90s are an aquired taste and many do not like them. U really got to try it to be sure

To start, i want to note I did buy the Tactical version from Taiwan. This version has a quick change gearbox, a metal flash-hider, and a nylon fiber receiver. I have handled the american version and the only difference between the ABS and the nylon fiber is the nylon is a bit grip-ier and has a more matte finish.

The upper receiver and rails have a good metal construction. However, the iron sight built into the rail is almost useless. The hole is so small and closed off you can hardly see anything but the big ol post in the center. Within the upper, the tightbore and hopup (with included h-nub) serve it well, making good use of the short, G36 length barrel. I can easily hit a man sized target from 75 ft on semi.

A note on P90s in general. P90s are an acquired taste. They look weird, and they feel weird. But at the same time, they look cool and are comfortable. They can be used left or right handed, one or two hands. After you get used to it, it is the greatest CQB platform around (in my opinion). The only drawback of it's design is the high-capacity magazines. In short, they dont work. One wind will get it going, but the bb pusher thing that feeds it into the winder will jam up, and you have to take it out and adjust it every few seconds on full auto. Get MAG 170 round mid caps or King Arms 110 rd-ers and you will be fine. Mag changes are slower than an M4 but with a dump pouch not horrible at all. Just be sure to be behind cover when u do it.

The lower is also very good but otherwise featureless. Trades are nicely engraved and not to flashy, no white paint. The metal upper balances the gearbox making this gun very balanced and actually easy to use one handed. Dual wielding is entirely feasible but not tested. Only gripe here is the fire selector is very stiff, and the dual stage trigger is finicky. Basically, on full auto a "half" pull will give you one shot, and a full pull with get you full auto. But there is no indication of a "half" pull as with the AUG, where there is a very feel-able click. It doesnt seem to have a constant definition either, and i would not rely on it ever.

The gearbox on this gets a respectable rate of fire, and is very reliable. Furthermore, being so deep in the gun, it is extremly quite as well.


Overall, this guns has a few minor problems, but is, in my opinion, by far the best P90 available today. Slap on a red dot, laser, 11.1 lipo, some MAG 170 rd mid caps, and maybe flashlight and you are ready for any CQB scenario.
by Joshua S. on 2016-06-28 10:22:48
"This gun is great, got it right out of the box and it fire nice and cleanly. The only problem i had (and im sure a red dot sight or just an adjustment to the iron sights) is that it shoots a little to the left of what you are aiming at. other than that I feel very happy that this is my first gun.



Pros- just about everything, fps, components, etc.

Cans- the iron sights are a little odd, it really restricts your perception since its a tiny whole that is focused on a sight inside the rail, and the small hole itself means you have to take more precious seconds to focus your eye on what you are shooting at, but a red dot or a scope sight can fix it.
by Cheryl M. on 2016-06-28 10:21:37
"by the way this P90 is 4 pounds its pretty light
I bought a red dot scope with this gun it was 45$
and i LOVE IT buy one. BY The way when i bought this gun all
my friends were very jealous and most of them ordered it


PROS

light
accurat
cool gun
by Cheryl M. on 2016-06-28 10:19:44
"i like this gun SOSOSO much I recommend this gun to anyone.


PROS

shoots good great FPS i bought a sight with mine and I highly recommend that

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 22 reviews)

Pages:  1  2