Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Ready for AIRSOFTCON 2017 - Oct 14?   Coupon code: SAVE20 (Exclusions apply, see details)

FN Herstal Full Metal SCAR Light Airsoft AEG Rifle by VFC (Model: Standard / Black)

38 Customer Reviews

by Riley D. on 04/25/2017
"I have had this gun for over a year and i absolutely love it. It is very durable and has a surprisingly high rate of fire.

Pros:
Just under 400 fps
Extremely durable
good weight and very well balanced
good draw time
high fire rate for surppressive fire and lighting enemies up
great for wide open fields or CQB or any thing you can dream of
very adaptable it can be use from heavy machine gun to crude sniper
quite accurate and has flip up peep sites

Cons:
reloading the battery can be difficult but if you have trouble adjust the stock and it should come out
the bolt sometimes does not catch
BBs will occasionally roll out of the barrel but all it does is make your next shot a dry fire
by Justin K. on 02/27/2017
"Very solid very real looking very realistic to the real model not sure the performance yet. very well put in the gather no loose parts. The only part I see that would rather work that rattles around is the bolt and the stock a bit. But don't let these things that hurt you I have had less or scars before and this is by far the best one I've ever owned. I have had other ones from other manufacturers and this one beats them
by Trevor H. on 01/19/2017
"I bought this while it was on sale to save my wallet. I was sort of scared of defects because of the sale, but I figured it was nothing I couldn't fix. I read all of the reviews and did research on other Scar-L's and Scar-H's, and this is by far the best choice. It is easily upgradeable, the external body feels extremely sturdy, and it looks great. One thing I noticed out of the box was how sturdy the stock felt. Compared to my Echo 1 SR16, it feels like a tank. I went to shoot it and I was extremely unimpressed, but I charged up my battery some more, and this thing competes very well with accuracy and FPS even though the SR16 has a longer barrel. Sounds awesome in full auto.
Pros:
Mags for Scar-L's are wayyy cheaper than Scar-H's
Beautiful gun
Ambidextrous controls, although selector switch is kinda crummy
Feels nice and durable
Little to no AEG whine once tuned up right
Shoots accurately with iron sights and FPS seems pretty good
Extreme upgradeability
Cons:
Mag well is super wobbly
Echo 1 Mags do not feed properly (battery was not fully charged when I used them)
Battery compartment is TINY. I got a G&G small butterfly and it hardly fits.
Wiring feels like it could snap easily
Selector switch and bolt are finicky and do not feel right

Overall out of the box this gun is great for the price I got it for. It is more so a $300 gun than a $400 gun. I will be using it this weekend in a public match, and I will strip it down to see the internals. I will post an updated review after that.
by Eduard E. on 04/18/2016
"This is just another good vfc gun. Don't let anyone say anything diffrent.
by Lyndon Kevin D. on 07/03/2015
"Just got my scar today and only had brief opportunities to operate it. I'll give a more detailed review when I get more trigger time with it.

One piece of advise, just get a lipo. I tried 8.4 small butterfly and small brick and they won't fit in any intuitive way. Butterfly 7.4's fit perfectly however and out of the box, my gun was chronoing around 380-390 which I'm sure will decrease as I break in the gun.

The build is solid but I only have 1 complaint about the lower receiver. The polymer doesn't feel as robust as I think it should be, especially around the mag well. If the mag well was lined with some kind of metal, I think mag insertion and dropping would be better. Speaking of mags, I tried a lonex flash mag (fell metal, reg m4 style) and it fed through my scar great. Overall, I think this a great field gun platform.

Pro's:
- Tan Version is beautiful
- Upper Receiver is absolutely solid.
- Light weight with nearly 400 FPS out the box with .25's (Elite Force)

Cons:
- Magwell could feel a bit more sturdy
- Bolt catch is finicky, doesn't catch all the time.
- Will require you to get Lipo if you don't have them already.
- the grey used for the bracket like thing that attaches the barrel to the gas tube is hideous.

Overall 1st Impression: 4.5
by Erik M. on 02/22/2015
"There has been a lot of controversy over VFC scar's in the past few years. Frequent topics are the motor frying out, poor stock wiring, self-shimming gears, crappy proprietary hopup unit... and if you have done the research, you know the rest. While these are issues on older scars, I am glad to say that recent models seem to fix some of these issues.

Practicality: The big question is: Why scar over M4? The scar has a very unique look to it, and is largely a love-it or hate-it gun. Chances are that if you are taking the time to read this, you like or accept the style. As far as egronomics go, the scar stock is superior to any standard M4 stock as it has an adjustable cheek rest, 6 extendable positions, folds to the side, and has a curved ruberized butt pad. As a side note, just know that this is VFC, so when you fold the stock, NO WIRES!!! The gun is covered in rails, so it has more room to add toys than most stock m4's. In my opinion, the biggest advantage a scar has over an m4, apart from its looks, is its light weight. The nylon fiber lower reciever really does help to keep the weight down and minimizing weight is a good thing, especially if you plan to move around a lot. The problem to all this goodness- everything external, including the pistol grip, is proprietary (except the flash hider, 14mm ccw). If you break it, your gonna have a bad time finding replacement parts. The other bad thing is battery storage. The maximum you will be able to fit comfortably is a 2200mah 7.2 lipo or barely a 1600mah 9.6 NiMh. Not too bad for lipo users, but a breaking point for most of those stuck with NiMh. As far as internals go, pretty much completely v2 comptable so if anything breaks here you are fine for replacement parts.

Quality: Externally, its a vfc. nuff said. Absolutely fantastic build quality, paint simply will never scratch off and nylon fiber can easily be mistaken for metal. Internally, not bad. Wires are somewhat thin but not as bad as some people make it seem. Solder on a pair of deans connectors to save space in the stock. The motor is a crappy, nondescript plain high-speed motor. I got 1000+ rounds out of mine before replacing it with an a2, nothing went wrong, i just prefer a snappy torque motor over a high-speed space heater. Gearbox wise, 6000+ rounds and still no problem with self-shimming gears, so dont worry. Only bad part - HORROBLE stock hopup unit. It will rattle, shake, UNWIND ITSELF AS YOU SHOOT, and will not accept aftermarket buckings.

Upgrading: The first thing to go is the hopup. Everywhere you look, everybody is going to tell you that you can't put a different brand chamber in a VFC scar, its a propirietary hopup. WRONG!!! A standard, 2-piece m4 hopup unit will fit like a charm if you trim down the "wings" on the side to the same length as the stock "wings". The upper part of the 2 piece hopup unit can be found here on evike. The ones by AIM and JG are available, although I'm not liking the AIM, its worlds better than the stock unit with a lonex 70 degree bucking. Internally, change out the motor for a lonex a2 titan and leave the gearbox alone. Put on a pair of deans connectors and you are good to go.

Performance:
Stock- poor trigger response, poor accuracy, average rate of fire.
With suggested upgrades (~$70) - Lightning trigger response, great accuract, slightly above average rate of fire.

Verdict- an excellent gun for those who like the style and like to tinker with internals a bit to claim a gun as their own. If you can't change a motor or swap a hopup unit, go with a kwa M4. 9/10 for those that can tinker, 5/10 for those who cant. Dealing with the stock hopup is a nightmare, if you cant change it or pay someone else to do it you are better off getting another gun.
by Racheal L. on 10/23/2014
"I got my scar 3 months ago and I have been impressed by its performance it shoots great and it's accuracy is amazing the only problems I had was the select switch isn't the best you have to make sure it gets in the right spot on both sides but nothing to extreme the other problem was the bolt catch is touchy I was play with my friends and had to adjust my hop up and I hade the handy tool in the hop up unit when my gun was shot witch released the bolt snapping my hop up tool but it's easy to replace and you could go with out it over all it's s amazing gun recommend it to anyone who wants a good AEG
by Scott T. on 10/04/2014
"The gun is amazing. I mean, its made by VFC, all of their guns are good in my opinion. The gun shoots perfect right out of the box. Do Not run anything lower than .20 gram BB's through this. UPS dropped mine in the delivery process, so my front sight and charging handle wobble and make noise, but that's a personal problem. Don't dry-fire this excessively or pull the trigger whilst the gun is on safety, Doing this will break the trigger contacts. I recommend a 9.6 nun-chuck style battery for this gun, as the battery compartment is TINY.

Pros:
Exactly like a real SCAR series weapon
External and internal build quality is amazing
Range is superior to other AEG's
Will last you forever if you take care of it

Cons:
Price (even considering this is below 400$)
Battery Compartment is Super Tiny
But-plate pin is very easy to lose.
by Gavin D. on 05/28/2014
"I just want to clear up a few things that the previous reviewer mentioned. The 9mm key for dis-assembly is located in a chamber in the gas block, along with a tool for adjusting the hop up. Also, the fact that gun is shooting at 380 is not a problem with it at all, it says up to 370 fps so just replace or shave spring a bit. Even though its shooting fairly hot right now, after you put it through its paces it should settle down a bit. Please read the manual before you leave a flaming one star review people.
by Elizabeth M. on 06/29/2013
"Great gun in my opinion. has many pros but a few major cons.

Pros
shoots fast
accurate
reliable
nicely balanced
makes you just want to shoot it
great trademarks

Cons
awful battery compartment.
(you can only have the stock fully extended or one position shy of fully extended)
orange tip is hard to get off
by stuart b. on 05/30/2013
"I have to say that right out of the box this gun is fantastic. It shoots about 400. After my first game it performed flawlessly. The rate of fire is great with a 9.6. You probably could use a lipo but in the manual it says that lithium batteries are not recommended. The gun has a great feel to it, nice weight, awesome look(awesome trademarks), and great features all around. However when i first got the gun it did not fire. This was caused by the motor not being in tight enough so easy fix. Be aware the battery space is VERY small. You can fit a nunchuck but its going to be very tight. Also the bolt catch is somehow jammed and will not go back all the way. I can access the hopup but it wont lock back. Overall i would give this gun a 9 out of 10. Its a great AEG and its definitely going to last me awhile. Buy it while you can!

Pros.
-Great ROF
-Really nice weight
-Awesome look. The trades make it that much better.
-Ambidextrous
-Pretty quiet.
-Takes just about all stanag mags.
-Functioning bolt catch.
-Lots of rail space.
-No exposed wires when stock is folded.
More that i cant think of.

Cons
-A little hot out of the box. (could be a pro)
-Really small battery space.
-The button for the stock to retract is really stiff.
That's all i got. I would highly recommend this gun to anybody.
by zack o. on 03/06/2013
"awesome gun right out of the box for any use you may need to put it to. mine is shooting 380 fps out of the box at 26 rps with an 11.1v 20c 1000mAh lipo although many of you looking at this review might be turned off by the price and only being at 380 that is not all that matters the hop-up is impeccable and has an effective range of nearly 70 yds. also the internals are incredibly reliable and super upgradeable with any v2 parts. all in all you get what you pay for


Pros:
reliable
fast rof
great range
good fps for most fields

Cons:
a little bit pricy(as i said you get what you pay for though
by Deven V. on 12/02/2012
"i love my vfc scar-l. it shoots hard,fast, and its accuracy is AMAZING!!!!!! i use a 9.6v 1600mah battery and it works great. i let my mom (she is a 45 year old lady that has never shot any kind of gun) shoot the scar for her first time ever and she hit a soda bottle from 70 ft. away NO PROBLEM!!!! i couldnt believe it. it looks great and while holding it you feel like you have the best piece of equipment!! :) the charging handle sounds beautiful when you let it go. the only con of this gun is probably the battery space isnt the best but other than that there is nothing other than pros to say about this gun.
by stephen f. on 08/11/2012
"This gun is a beast. I just got it yesterday and it was so amazing! Although I got the extended version, so the inner barrel is longer.

Pros:
FPS
ROF
IT'S A SCAR
self shim
really sturdy
accurate
goes far
take down just like the real steal

CON:
wiggly charging handle
battery space (the main problem with it is the car fuse gets in the way).

I recommend this to anyone who wants a scar l, 5/5
by Mike R. on 02/05/2012
"This gun is awesome. I have used other scars before like g&g and echo 1 (before they took them off their site) and this gun out performed them both. I must have gun for anyone tired of m4's and people who want a different yet amazing assault rifle. The only con I can think of is that the flash hider does not come off easily.