Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Ready for AIRSOFTCON 2017 - Oct 14?   Coupon code: SAVE20 (Exclusions apply, see details)

Shadow Op MB01 Type96 MK96 APS-2 Airsoft Bolt Action Sniper Rifle (Color: Black)

215 Customer Reviews

by Brian B. on 03/17/2011
"This is an amazin sniper, it is worth every penny. However at first I was having accuracy issues with .25g, so I bought the cylinder upgrade kit and som .36g, and now I'm consistently hittin a 5' target at 200 ft. I'm goin to continue buyin upgrades (since ther are so many available) and try to reach the full potential of this awesome gun. BUY IT!!! Very accurate and powerful, hop up is a b*tch tho, only con!
by stephen h. on 02/22/2011
"This L96 airsoft sniper rifle is the best one I have used. I have owned this rifle for over a year now and have run across only a few minor problems. I have a generation two rifle (can be determined by the screw in the back of the bolt assembly; flat head = gen. two, and Phillips head = gen. three). The problem was that this screw kept coming loose and was literally falling apart with each time the action was worked. I solved this using a thread glue (can still be disassembled after application of glue) after over frustration. This is not a problem with a generation three however. After solving this issue, this has become the ultimate sniperís rifle for a battle. Please note that this review is written by an experienced player and marksman.

Pros:
- High accuracy and FPS, good up to 250 - 300 feet maximum, most effective if under 200 feet. I am able to get 3 inch groupings at 200 feet (with a scope in the sitting position).
- Easy to clean WITHOUT taking the barrel and assembly out of the stock. To accomplish this, there is the piston release lever located in front of the trigger. Simply push down on the lever, and pull out the cylinder and bolt assembly. The airsoft rifle can then be cleaned from the barrel to the receiver without complication.
- Magazine release, simply push the release lever and the magazine shoots out into your hand.
- Smooth action
- High capacity for a sniper (30 rounds)
- Suppressor adaptor available, on this website for $18. The orange tip is removed by UNSCREWING it, not cutting or pulling. Then add the adaptor and suppressor and ta-da!
- Quiet when fired.
- Bipod mount included upon purchase of just the rifle. If you already have a bipod, donít waste your money on buying one for this rifle.

Cons:
- Long barrel (this is a con to some but is a perk for a sniper)
- Heavy, about 12- 13 lbs.
- The grip does take some getting used to, but eventually is accustomed to.
- Loud when using the bipod, not too sneaky when metal is clanking together.
- Difficult to reload clips, unless you know a trick. This is my trick; because the magazines are spring loaded, push down the spring and put your thumb on the bb port. Then take your index finger and make a pinching grip on the other side. Lastly, get your speed loader and have at it!
- Bulkier than other rifles.
- Scope add-on isnít great but gets the job done.
- Some complain about the fact that this is a sniper rifle and is most effective while being a sniper. Not recommended for closer ranges.

Overview:
Overall, this is an outstanding rifle and very effective at longer than average ranges. I have been getting nice groupings using .28 gram bbs by matrix. This has a very nice range, power, and accuracy without further modifications. A scope is recommended for this rifle because no sights are included. Before using in a battle, actually take your time and sight in your scope. Before I sighted my scope, I was hitting almost three feet left (over 140 clicks!!!!) and over 5 feet low (240 clicks!!!) and only at 200 feet. This is because of the scope, not the rifle. I recommend getting a few extra magazines (as you should do with any weapon). I rank this at a 19/20 for combat effectiveness after sighting in.
by fausto p. on 02/06/2011
"omg i recently got this gun and straight out of the box it was great! the assembley was simple and the fps is amazing(0.2bbs). perfect gun for anyone who ants to be a sniper. i regret not getting the bi pod for it because it is a little on the heavy side but no biggy its still great accuracy after adjusments to the scope. i recomend to anyone who wants a sniper at a good price!!!!!
by Eli T. on 01/07/2011
"I just got this gun and here is my review.

Pros.
1- Not too heavy
2- Hurts pretty good
3- Good accuracy
4- Cycles good
5- GREAT FOR WARS!!!
Cons.
NONE!!

p.s. better if you buy the scope and the bipod with it. use .20 gram bb's. and go for the HEAD SHOTS!!!
by Aaron K. on 12/31/2010
"This gun is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it.What makes this gun so special it is the only sniper rifle with the upgrade option of having a full metal bi-pod and a acope upgrade if you are looking for a great gun this is the gun for you.

Pros: good FPS
amazing range
hurts a lot!!!!!!!!!!
has a full meatal barrel

Cons:Not so good of a included sling
by vickie f. on 12/27/2010
"got this gun for christmas and i have to say.........ITS THE BEST SNIPER OUT THERE FOR IT PRICE! it hurts like a mo fo, it hits dead on and its perfect for long range. if your woundering if u should get this gun or not just get it! take my word for it. you will not regret getting this gun. thanks evike
by marcus m. on 12/19/2010
"great gun [pros] 1.light 2.easy to pull back 3.easy to up grade [cons] 1.wabble bipod 2.hard to ajust hop up in all good gun recomeded it to every body 5 stars
by Wesley S. on 12/16/2010
"This is a great gun for the price and for a stock gun it shoots exceptionally well!!!!!!
while i recommend you do some upgrades such as the spring guide, piston, hop up, trigger box, and spring they are not necessary. Like I said this is a great gun!!!!! I recommend at least .3gram bbs (i use .36grams) because this gives u much greater accuracy which is essential to the role of the airsoft sniper. The gun has no cons that i can think of at the moment although the bipod (if u purchased one with the gun) dose wobble slightly it isn't something that will affect your accuracy. I highly suggest u buy a scope as being a good sniper is almost imposable to do without!!!!!! I suggest at least a leapers 3x32.

Pros:
decent FPS
Decent hop up
easy to operate
FUN to operate!!!!
Cant be matched for the price
Highly Upgradeable

Cons:
(not really a con) bipod wobbles slightly
Dose not come with a scope (unless you purchase it with the gun)
by Matt O. on 12/15/2010
"This gun is amazing!! I have used this in many wars and it makes my friends cry!
Pros:
Legit
good scope: adjustable zoom
very quiet
awesome bolt if you maintain it
Cons:
difficult to assemble/ deassemble
sometimes loads 2

BUT THIS GUN IS AMAZING BUY IT NOW!!!
by Jesse G. on 12/09/2010
"This is by far my favorite sniper that I own. I've had the Shadow Ops sniper for about 3 years, and its performance is always impressive. With the proper care, hitting targets accurately at extreme distances is normal. Out of the box, this sniper is already shooting hard, but upgrades are still easy to find and relatively cheap.

PROs:
Extremely accurate
Durable
High fps
Easy to camouflage (with tape or paint)
Reliable during games.
Intimidating

CONs:
Low magazine capacity (although still high for a sniper)
by Bryan H. on 12/06/2010
"OH MY GOSH! I mean this gun is the sickest,awesomest,high fps gun on earth! I can't ask for more! I went to the store today at like 7:00 and when I got this gun.... I litterly fainted it was sexy,intimidating ,and high freaking fps!I went with my dad and my dad was like HOly doggies!The man and this other dude helped me out (thank you so much you guys rock and Evike!) really helped me out.I got the gun it had a real gun feeling on my hands.I started shooting it and it was a little hard to cock (I'm only 12) and yeah.It shot so accurately and hit the targets so hard!I wish I can tell you more ,but I got to get to the cons and pros!I love you evike and the people who helped me! P.S this other guy let me shoot his sick gun at the shooting range.Let me tell you get the gun and go to the store when you get it!

Pros:
Sexy beast,glared at me so long my eyes turned to a love shaped pupil!
Strong! 0.28 grams=420 fps----chronoed for the first time! I felt awesome chronoing a gun!
Strong metal!
Scope was awesome it was like.... no not like,it's just plain sexy!
Bipod was awesome!

Cons:
You need to stop delaying and get this gun no other guns! OKAY! GOOD! :D :D :D :)!
by Cole K. on 11/27/2010
"This...gun...is...AMAZING! Modeled after the Sako Arctic Warfare Magnum L96A1 in .338 Lapua Magnum, it's a great gun! It's pretty heavy, not something you want to lug around, I suggest getting this with the bipod, and buy a good shotgun with your purchase, so you aren't carrying this around all day. But, anyhow, this is a very good gun, has an effective range of 200 feet (I shot a kid from 200 feet with this and he still felt it pretty well.) I got this for my birthday, with the scope and bipod, what a GREAT scope, 3-9 power, and high quality.

-PROS-

Great range
High FPS (Around 370-400)
Good sling mounts
Very nice solid construction
Strong plastic
Great rail

-Cons-

Must be assembled (it's just two pieces, you must screw together with an allan key)
A bit hard to pull the bolt back, a bit of lube can fix that
If you buy the scope it optionally comes with, the screws for the mount must be tightened often
Scope that it optionally comes with is kind of green, this is not too much of a problem
Bipod it optionally comes with is a bit wobbly
it will jam the first couple shots maybe, to fix these jams, remove the magazine, put on safety, slide the bolt back until BBs come from the chamber, and fire. If this doesn't work, use the unjamming rod it comes with to dislodge the BBs.
Otherwise, this is a great gun
---------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------<-
br /> This gun was my first and only sniper rifle. A great buy, perfect price for the quality and performance.

--Cole K
by Michael M. on 11/06/2010
"This gun is very nifty and makes me feel sexy. WOOOOO
by Jarrod E. on 11/06/2010
"This is a Great Gun especially since its a Maruzen Clone..
Thankfully the people at Polar Star have made some Upgrade parts such as Piston,Spring guide, etc...

Also for those looking for the Right thread adapter to attach a Surpressor here is the link:
http://www.airsoftpost.com/product_info.php?products_id=-
33465

Overall this is a great gun for begginers and if your willing to spend some cash you can easily turn this rifle into a QUALITY sniper rifle..

Mine Crono'ed at 490 FPS when i first got it.. and at about 50 feet im getting groupings of less then 8inchs Diameter with only using teflon to seal up the piston head..

There is also a Way to REMOVE the bolt without having to Dissasemble the Gun.. here is step by step.

1. remove mag and clear gun. (also remove the Cheak pad )
2. inside the trigger well you will find the firing pin. all you need to do is Pull Down on it and it will lower, Releasing the Bolt.
3. next you will have to hold down the trigger slightly. It will not be a full trigger pull so dont pull too hard..
4.pull the bolt all the way back and out of the gun..
5. your done..

Putting the bolt back in is simple.. as your sliding the bolt back in place just hold down the trigger sear and the other sear and slide it back in.. dont forget to reinsert the Fireing pin..

**If your bolt gets caught on the Sears and gets stuck then you will need to take off the trigger box to free the bolt..
by Peter M. on 11/05/2010
"The video reveiews for this gun say that it comes with a bipod; does it; for free? because the customization options say differently, so im wondering?

Evike Staff: You decide. Buy it with bipod, with scope, with both or just gun alone.
(Please note we cannot answer questions here generally, refer to our facebook or forum please.)