Reviews: Heckler & Koch Full Metal HK45 Airsoft GBB Pistol by KWA


11 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-KWA-HK45
Location: U13-208 WO9-M05 WSO7-M04

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews)

by Ryan F. on 2015-08-16 12:49:41
"I bought this pistol about a year ago and have been using it quite often and it's good but has some flaws. First of all this thing SHOOTS HARD! On a normal day it shoots about 340, but on hot days it can get up to 380. People always let me know that it hurts. The magazine capacity is a great thing to have but the mags are so expensive, and have to be cleaned because if dirt gets in the double stack area the bbs jam up. The gas capacity on the mags is great, it is sort of a gas hog because it takes a lot to fill up a mag to the max but it lasts about 3 and a half mags. The gun itself is really accurate, I've hit people with it from upwards of 100 to 150 feet and the hop up is great. It's easy to take apart and clean, the blow back is crisp and clean. However, two months after I got it I noticed that the slide catch wore down and the mags would no longer lock back when I was out of bbs, but for me it wasn't that big of a deal. Just recently the front sight fell out because it just slides in on the front, but before it would slide over and throw the alignment on my sights off. What I would recommend is just to glue the sight in place so you don't loose it. YOU CAN BUY REPLACEMENT PARTS ON KWA'S WEBSITE. This is the link to the slide catch,
Overall it does its job extremely well.

Great FPS
Ammo Capacity 27 (28 if there's one in the chamber)
Gas Capacity
Crisp blow back
Good Cycling rate

Slide catch wears down and the gun no longer locks back when empty
Front sight falls off
Mags jam when dirty
Mags are EXPENSIVE!!!!
by Kane G. on 2015-07-14 15:22:23
"This gun is great. Comfortable to hold, very light unloaded, hop up carries .25s forever (BB travels ~200 feet level, though its not super accurate because, well, it's still a pistol with combat sights). The magazine is pretty much a hi-cap compared to other pistol mags at 28+1 rounds, and they are very sturdy magazines. The top where the BBs feed is metal, so you can let the follower go from the bottom and it won't break like other pistol mags with plastic tops. Using propane, I can get about 2 and a half mags of BBs on one fill. The only problem I've had is sometimes when I empty a magazine and the slide is locked back, it'll slide forward with the insertion of the next magazine. All in all this gun is a bit pricey but well worth it. Personally I'm gonna try to get an over-under rail mount and throw a red-dot on it to imitate my trusty sidearm in Battlefield 4, and get metal outer barrel of some sort.

Very accurate
Comfortable to hold
Magazines are very sturdy
Good magazine capacity

Slide problems when loading a new mag
Front sight seems easy to slide out
by Aidan V. on 2015-06-12 17:29:16
"Mixed bag of HK fanboyisms

Im not sure if I love this gun for how it performs, or how sexy it can be.

In the hand, this gun is comfortable for most hand sizes, it's MP7/USP push-down mag release is also very nice to use and is a great relief for those who are used to button mag releases.
This gun is as attractive as it is fun to shoot. I would recommend purchasing detonator steel parts along with this gun to give it it's full aesthetic potential. As soon as you buy the gun, you are going to want to replace the outer barrel anyway.
The gun is durable, as long as you don't smash giant blocks of ice with the bottom of the mag when you're bored (which broke one of my mag baseplates). Another gripe I have on the external quality is how easy I managed to chip my frame by accidentally dropping it on concrete, I expect a new frame shipped to me as soon as they come back in stock (which is difficult considering the recent KWA-H&K licensing snafu).
This gun is a performer. It fires a constant approx. 330 FPS when you feed it GOOD gas, and is extremely efficient considering how it managed to last about 2 mags of bb's on one five second gas charge in BELOW FREEZING weather. I tested this by completely burying the gun in 2 feet of snow for five minutes. The FPS didn't drop much either.
If I were to complain, all of my mental stress is on the sights. The sights are good sights, but their durability is VFC HK416 GBBR bolt durability. My front sight fell off a month after I purchased it, and the pre-administered blue locktite for the back sight (which is screwed in) doesn't seem to keep the screw from partially unthreading itself, which makes the sight wobbly. Parts for this gun are also extremely hard to find. If you get this with a threaded barrel, good luck finding a holster (I still haven't even found one).

Overall, this gun is a winner if you get new sights and detonator parts, which don't come cheap. If you have the money or the time and effort to bring this gun to it's full potential, this is an amazing replacement to your current green-gas pistol.
by Roman D. on 2014-12-24 13:43:38
"This is an amazing pistol. It is full metal except for the outer barrel, you can power stroke it (pull the slide back while the slide is locked to load a bb into the chamber), it holds alot of bbs in the mag, very efficient(i can go through over 2 mag fils until the gas runs out, and i love the functioning decocker and saftey. All in all this is the best pistol i own and it has alot of kick, as well as the Heckler And Koch and Gambel trade marks all over the gun, even internally it has hk trades. Very accurate and easy to adjust the hop up. For the price its an amazing gun, in my opinion its the best gbb pistol out there. The only downside is that the slide can sometimes get a little bit stuck, so make sure to fully disasemble the gun which is very easy, just line up the square with the pin and slide the slide off, then pull the recoil spring out and the barrel, and you want to clean every inch of the gun with a q tip until there is no more black residude from the machines on your q tip, then oil everything that moves up with 100% silicone oil. also the decocker can be a little fidgety but not very often if at all. lastly, the only upgrade i did to this gun is replacing the barrel with a metal one from RA-tech.
by Stephan H. on 2014-12-07 19:56:32
"KWA makes excellent pistols, this is no exception.

I have had very few functional issues with this pistol. Gas efficiency is excellent, even in cold (40 degrees and below) the gun functions fine. Accuracy is great out of the box. I use .23g BBs with propane, and the effective range is comparable to some lower end AEGs. Despite the look, the gun feels great in the hand. While it is not recommended, I temporarily removed the orange tip (I can still pop it in the barrel, which I do when I transport and store it). It looks way better, and it fits in a Kydex holster for a real steel HK45. On the subject of looks, I think the finger rest extension on the magazine looks stupid because its a full frame pistol, but that's how the real gun is, so I cant really complain much.


Like other polymer frame pistols, the rear of the frame, between the trigger and the slide, is a weak point. The outer plastic tends to break off with heavy use. This was the same for their USPs. Not a big deal, since it doesnt effect function, and it can just be glued back on.

Magazines. The magazine that came with the gun (the only one I currently have) had some loading issues. The follower tends to get jammed, preventing the BBs from feeding up the magazine. This has been an issue when I pull my sidearm to get a close engagement kill, and it fails to load. I've tried cleaning the inside of the magazine, where the follower travels and the BBs sit. I dont want to file down the follower in fear that it may lose the ability to lock at the bottom. I hope this issue goes away with use.

Double action/ decocking is funky. Again, like a lot of airsoft pistols, decocking and double action are a little screwy. It is fine to shoot, decock, and use in double action. But, if you remove the magazine after decocking (or before), it needs to be re-cocked when the magazine is inserted. Not a big deal, just need to keep the magazine in the gun if you are going to carry it in condition 2 (round in the chamber, hammer down).

Front sight is also prone to sliding out, I glued mine in before I lost it.

The Pros:

The gun comes with a split style bucking, which is why KWA's pistols are so accurate out of the box. (Con: the HK45 hop-ups are semi-proprietary, there are no aftermarket companies making rubbers for them yet)

Super efficient. Close to 3 magazines of BBs on one fill (on a nice warm day, shooting at a calm pace). Also 28 rd mags.

Trades are quite nice. Laser engraved, so eventually they might wear off, but they look great.

Snappy blowback.

by Eugene Y. on 2014-08-01 01:19:24
"I'm a big Heckler&Koch fan, I have to say this is probably one of the best Hk airsoft replica. I carry this pistol as my sidearm to couple big games and countless pick-up games, so now I feel like It's time for me to do a overall review.

1. comfortable grip
2. mag holds 28+1 rounds. And also one gas fill will give you about 46-52 rounds.
4.Full HK trademarks
5.Can fit in P30 holsters, which is great for me.

1. It has a slide stop, not a slide release. So if you use it as a slide release it will damage the slide catch.
2.Mags are kinda expensive.
3.hop-up adjustment can be difficult on the field.
4.plastic outer barrel.
by andrew m. on 2014-05-30 22:02:48
"this is the best green gas pistol i have ever gotten. Has a great range (goes farther then my m4) It is great quality, its worth every cent, it is more money than other pistols but it will last so much longer with no problems at all. It looks way better than the picture
by Li X. on 2014-05-29 13:13:05
"Just took this KWA HK45 after got KWA USP MATCH two years later. Personally, HK45 is much better than USP series, not only the feeling, but also the performance. The hammer system seems get improved, safety and de-cocking operation feels better. And the recoil is also strong and hard.

Only two CONs, one is the white paint trademark slide and the other is the plastic outer barrel. But when upgrading them with CNC aluminum slide and steel outer barrel, it will be much more terrific and fantastic!
by Ryan S. on 2014-04-22 14:07:23
"I absolutely love this gun. I have owned it for about a year and I have to say this is my favorite gun, even tops my JG M4 any day. I recommend getting a KWA pistol to anyone, the price may be higher but you get a quality product, and it is cheaper than getting a Tokyo Marui which i feel you pay mainly for the name on it. This specific pistol has many advantages.

It is KWA
It feels great in the hand
It is accurate and the shoots good overall
Haven't had a problem yet with it
Looks really nice

Orange tip is flimsy and should not have a silencer on it
Magazines cost a lot, like all gas guns
Back straps are a pain
by Caedan A. on 2013-12-29 09:41:28

I was gonna get a kwa m9 but I wanted a tactical and those were pre order

Then I was going to get a usp but then I changed my mind and got this instead


Feels realistic

Looks awesome

Shoots great


Impossible to change the back strap

Sometimes the slide doesn't lock back
by Daniel S. on 2012-10-09 23:25:06
"This is by far the best GBB pistol on the market! i highly recommend it to anyone!
light weight
shoots great (i recommend .25 or .28)
crisp blow back
magazines feed well
great gas efficiency (one charge lasts about 2 mags on a 60 degree day)
very accurate
great range (has the range and accuracy of an M4)
Trademarks licensed from HK
very ergonomic grip, extremely comfortable to hold and shoot
easy disassemble and easy to clean

if you don't have it i feel bad for you son but i got 99 problems but the gun ain't one.

Overall this gun is the best handgun on the market by far, it out-ranges and out performs all other pistols. i love it.

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews)