Reviews: Colt Licensed M4 CQB-R Carbine Full Metal Airsoft AEG Rifle

$219.99 $175.00

44 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-18975
Location: L2-007 WSO7-T08 WSO7-T09 WSO7-T10 WSO7-T11

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 44 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4   
by Christian C. on 2015-01-03 23:38:27
"*This is a review for both the new gen d-boys and the clot licensed gun due to the fact that I ordered the D-Boys version and got the Colt version.*

I am in no way affiliated with Evike.

I have had this gun for quite a while and haven't written a review on it yet so I figured why not give it a go. First of all I'll go over the assembly. Everything on this gun other than the transitioning part of the stock, the grip, and the front sight is completely metal, including the internals. The only thing I noticed that bothered me when holding the gun is that the outer barrel slightly wobbles (about 1/16th of an inch). Although this DOES NOT effect the shot of the gun at all, it took me some getting used to. Upon firing the gun I found it to be a very smooth feeling shot. However I found another slight flaw with my gun while shooting it. The gun shot slightly to the left. Although this had almost zero effect on the accuracy of the gun, and may just be a problem with my model, it made it almost impossible to use sights for the gun. However, sights are somewhat impractical for airsoft anyway unless you are buying a sniper. The only other thing that I can think of while airsofting that you may need to consider if you are a younger or smaller player is that this gun is heavy. Before you buy this gun make sure that you are okay running around with something as heavy as a real firearm. I play out in the cold weather with this gun (I bought a 9.6 volt battery for it as well http://www.evike.com/products/24483/) and have played in games down to 15 degrees. I have never had a problem in the cold weather. Even when other airsofters guns are going dead, this still shoots like a freshly charged weapon. I'm not sure if its the battery listed above, or that this consumes so little power without effecting the shot. I feel like in this review I have bashed this gun a lot but these are the only flaws in it and I cannot stress enough how much I love this gun. It has great range, an incredible fire rate, and just the smoothest feeling shot out of any airsoft gun I have ever fired. My brother has a $170 D-Boys gun from evike (http://www.evike.com/products/28046/) and although it shoots just as far and as accurate as mine, it dosen't have the same smooth feeling that this gun has. I don't think there is a better gun on the market for this price.


Pros.
Great smooth feeling to the shot
Accurate
Fast firing rate
Battery efficient
Decent Range
Full Metal (has survived more than a few drops)
Lots of Rail Space

Cons.
Outer barrel slightly wobbly
Shoots slightly to the left

In Conclusion, I would more than recommend this gun. you are definitely getting your moneys worth.
by Christine B. on 2014-11-04 13:51:49
"This gun shoots very far for being a "cqb master ". It is somewhat heavy for its size but overall an amazing gun
by Michael S. on 2014-06-28 12:00:34
"This gun overall is a pretty good gun. The listed fps is a bit low, mine shot around 400fps with 20g bbs. Also one con for me is that i weighs around 8.5 lbs (about 4kgs) which gets kind of heavy if you run around with it for a few hours. Overall theis is a high fps and heavy but still very good M4.
by Kenneth H. on 2014-06-20 03:57:11
"Ok, so I have had this gun for a while (7 months) and I have to say this gun is terrible. I don't know if I got a bad one but when I first got this gun I took it out to my local field and the bucking broke so a BB would only come out ever other shot also the buffering tube + the stock came off, its a easy fix but that shouldn't happen to a brand new gun.
by Josh M. on 2014-04-25 09:39:19
"I have owned this rifle for about 2 months, and have had it in about 3 or 4 airsoft events, and this rifle preforms very well, I'll first go over the pros, cons, and other notes you should know about purchasing this rifle.

Pros;
+Very Sturdy, Being full metal, the price is spectacular for a full metal AEG
+Upgradable and moddable, being an M4 model you'll find no shortage of parts
+Battery in the back, makes it easy to upgrade and change barrel and hand guard
+Stock is larger, making a good cheek rest if you have a lot of gear on, Stock is also
adjustable.
+Default sights are nice and large

Cons;
-Heavy, since it is full metal if you are not a larger guy, you may have some trouble moving it around all day, especially in close quarters, I'm 6.1 and still have tender arms after slinging this thing around for 7 hours.
-Lots of spin defaulted. This may not be a problem if you know what you're doing, however if you don't like making internal adjustments, you'll have to adjust the heck out of your rear sight.
-Exceeds indoor fps limit. Just keep in mind that although it is advertised as around 340 fps, it came out at 420 when I chrono-ed it for the first time with .20s.

Notes;
If you are buying Tokyo marui midcaps, or any other magazines that do not come with the gun, you may need to shave off a couple of layers of the magazine using some sand paper or a knife, as they fit WAY too tight into the gun and are hard to get out.
This gun advertised said it came with one high cap, it actually does come with 2. I prefer mid caps but if you have no preference still an awesome feature.
Barrel length is perfect for indoors, keep in mind this review is completely based off indoor combat, and have not gotten the chance to try it out on an outdoor course.

Overall this rifle is a fantastic buy for the price, and is extremely moddable. I would highly recommend this gun to Airsofters that re getting geared up, but don't want to spend an extravagant amount to get performance.
by Mark S. on 2014-04-17 07:56:32
"New to airsoft and with so many options i didnt know where to go. Bought a dmr and when i started it was winter and most places within a couple hours of me where cqb so decided to look for a lower fps cqbr. Been playing every weekend for about 3 months and put around 40k rounds into this gun and its been a champ so far. No problems other than breaking the charging handle trying to be "tacticool" lolz. I am a 1 eyed player and I run an afg 2, mt react grip, and a nc star red dot with 3 hi caps and 4 mids cuz i tend to mag dump with my limited vision.

pros
good fps for cqb chronos around 340-360 after wearing the spring in
looks realistic
almost no wobble [only wobble is the ris and its not too bad. fixed with a mission first react grip]
lightweight [ could be heavyfor someone with a tiny frame/children]
pretty accurate out of the box for cqb

cons
range meant for cqb

Overall pretty nice gun for someone who doesnt know where to start! Grab this m4!
Suggest upgrading with a longer tightbore inner barrel to get better range and accuracy and a decent red dot/holo sight.
by Conner L. on 2014-04-03 17:26:36
"Bought this gun for Christmas and I think it is fudging AWESOME!!!! It is full metal and comes with 2 high caps. The iron sights are good; they have 2 rear sight peep holes( one for cqc and one for shooting far away) Also I would recommend either a lipo or a 9.6 because the battery that comes with it gives it a low rof. I would highly recommend this gun!
by Darian R. on 2014-04-01 16:06:37
"***Read after the Pros/Cons
Pros:
Heavy weight - It just feels well built and stocky, exactly like the real gun
Dead on accuracy up to around 280 feet
Full metal
Cheap price
Iron sights have 2 different reticles/ can be greatly adjusted
Laser etched Colt Emblem on side
Stock is Plastic but sturdy, tough, and lots of space inside for bigger batteries

Cons:
Flat black paint is susceptible to scratches

***I bought this gun when it was under EPIC DEALS, received it USED.
Scratches/gashes everywhere, wobbly rail, battery that wouldn't charge, missing the cleaning rod, banged up box. RMA'd it, took 5-7 days to get to Evike and 5-7 days to get back. Was brand new when I got it back.
by Oskar L. on 2014-03-16 15:52:03
"I purchased this gun 5 months ago and I really liked it at first mainly because it was my first "good" airsoft gun. It shot well it was full metal decent ROF and I liked it then. But I started using it more and more and I realized that this gun is terrible. The rail system is really wobbly and loud everyone can hear you coming. The body is awful aside from the Colt trademarks. The mag well is big enough that every mag I own and have tried wobbles and will fall out, I've lost 3 mags from this. The buffer tube is so loose that it wobbles almost as much as the rails. The battery that comes with it was awful and the connectors on it got ripped off after 4 games. Also, this is kind of a problem, but when I took it too my field the FPS was too high to use so I have to get the spring replaced.

Pros:
Trademarks
Full metal
Comes with a battery and charger

Cons:
Wobbly
Battery sucks
Loud
Heavy
Not very accurate

I've had to replace every part about this gun I don't recommend it
by kevin l. on 2014-02-22 20:52:18
"This gun is an absolute tank. Don't let CQBR throw you off because this gun has an incredible range. In addition, it sounds awesome when you shoot it. After owning the gun for awhile, the rail does get wobbly and the screws in the motor grip fell out a few times. This gun is also quite heavy, especially if you're planning on getting accessories. Overall, the pros definitely outweigh the cons because of the gun's performance.

Pros:
range
power
accuracy
easily customizable
crane stock
durable

Cons:
heavy
wobbly rail system after some use
by Logan H. on 2014-01-03 12:45:20
"To start off, I'm extremely happy with this gun. It has an awesome, authentic feel to it, and with the right attachments it looks super intimidating. However, the crane stock that comes with this gun is absolute trash. If you're purchasing this weapon, keep in mind that you will NEED to purchase a new stock. I'm also less than impressed with the wiring. It's not horrible, but the wires in the buffer tube feel really cheap and flimsy. My only other complaint is the low rate of fire (10 RPS), although it's not a huge deal, I'm just used to the 17 RPS my Echo 1 XCR fires at, so it's a huge difference. Overall, I'm very impressed with the external build of this gun (except for the HORRIBLE crane stock) and pretty happy with the performance.
by Matthew G. on 2013-12-31 19:55:47
"This gun is great but has a con that makes me sell it and buy a different gun. It is around 8lbs and feels great, looks great but it is heavy to the point if i do not put it down after 35 min I start to massage my wrist for the pressure it puts on my hand. It has a a wobbly hop-up and also does not fit mag-pul mags. The stock is hard to adjust with battery. But mainly it is impossible to move this thing and i'm a big guy.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 44 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4