Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Holiday Extended Phone Support Hours M-F 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Holidays! 20% OFF with coupon code: HOLIDAY20 (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

FN Herstal Full Metal SCAR Light Airsoft AEG Rifle by VFC (Model: Standard / Dark Earth)

39 Customer Reviews

by Diamelba M. on 11/20/2011
"gun is amazing. 1 day after i got it, i went and battled with it. amazing range even with cqb barrel, extreme accuracy. get it. one of the best airsoft guns out there. top 5
by Rhonda A. on 07/23/2011
"i've had this gun for about a year it's awesome you can disassemble sooooo easily it's durable and looks sick
by Calin P. on 11/24/2010
"This, by far, is one of the best airsoft rifles I have ever owned. At around 180 ft. fairly accurate, and at around 75 ft. you could hit a quarter, I would say this gun is accurate. I currently use a Holographic on mine. I have yet to try the iron sights though. Here are the Pros and Cons

PROs
*Accurate
*Great CQB because of folding Stock
*Excellent Range
*Good Quality
*Hidden wires in folding stock
*Realistic weight, and stripping
*Not too much rail-system like the popular M4, just enough
*Lightweight

CONs
*Small battery compartment, have to force battery in and out. I wrapped my battery in electrical tape to fix this
*The lower receiver is plastic. I was a little upset about this, but I got over it. High-Quality Plastic.
*Internal Upgrades done to mine. Not the safety does not work properly. If enough pressure is applied to trigger, it will fire.
*The Extended barrel has a orange tip that will not come off.Only for Long version barrel, not CQB.
*Can be picky with some mags.
by Spencer d. on 04/29/2010
"This is a great gun, everything is solid. I've read some reviews on this gun that say that the stock doesn't lock very well in place when it is folded, but I never experianced that problem, in fact it is a VERY tight lock. I also liked how there is a sturdy click. I only have one complaint and it is that the wires in the battery are very hard to put back without worrying that it will break in half.
by Andrew M. on 04/16/2010
"This AEG is top notch. The finish is great for woodland or ari...
d fields, and the gun is solid. With it's high rate of fire and power, I can put fear into the enemy, even snipers. The battery compartment is pretty snug, and might take some fiddling with to get used to, but even with such a high rate of fire the battery lasts for quite a long time. You can get a larger battery into the slot by extending the stock, but you'll have to leave it extended during play. This is truly a great AEG, and the SCAR version I recommend to any friends interested in SCARs. The price tag might turn some people off, but you definitely get what you pay for with this one folks.

This gun has made the difference many times sense I first dawned it against my friends, and I'd put my money down on it turning the tide for you and your friends as well.

Pros:
-High rate of fire.
-Good fps even with .35bbs
-Accurate all the way through bb flight.
-Can be accessorized beyond the point of usefulness.
-Many ambidextrous features


Cons:
could use a tight bore,but to me any gun needs a tight bore
could use a scope.the iron sights kinda suck.
by Warren C. on 04/13/2010
"Probably the best SCAR out there, I love mine!
The only thing that i hate is the very small battery space, its hard to get the battery and wires to fit, but other than that its an amazing gun well worth the money.
by tom p. on 02/19/2009
"ya, you should use a 9.6 1500 mAh battery. (1500-1600 will work,) it will push tha ROF up a little, but i talked to a professional and they said it would be fine...
THe Review,,,,

Just got enough $$$ for this beast. purcasing very soon, like 2marrow, will review after that....

spelling, sorry!, not my best subject!)
by Justin C. on 10/16/2008
"Omar u need to put through hell i hit it wit a hammer on my bed or use a pillow or sumn like that so yah dont bend it then get sum pliers or sum channel locks. should come right off. if not im sure you could get that thing out of there
by Justin C. on 09/24/2008
"this is an update from my last review i found the problem it being im a dumb ass the battery died they do that from time to time i was stoned and forgot. so could anyone recomend me a good battery? i use a crappy 8.4 1100 mah. But all nonsense aside the gun is simply amazing every spec short of a few grams of the real deal, including the striping. Upon stripping I noticed there is no wires to crimp or mess up. also the fact that it carries an actual dummy bolt instead of a piece of metal to resemble one rely turned me on about it. And it comes with an on board sight ajust/hex key located on the gas port. Not to mention it shoots hard as shit, as my budy learned the hard way when i accidently shot the poor soul in the jaw it kinda even looked like i shot him with the real one with out the death. this bad boy is a must for any serious player. if you got the money do it

















/
by Justin C. on 09/24/2008
"this is by far the best gun ive ever owned . however id like to question the firing a bit its been like 2 weeks since i got it and i was firing it today and it started to jam and it just stopped it sound like its trying to fire but it just makes that pre firing whining noise every gun makes if anyone can help lend an idea that would be awesome
by linda e. on 09/21/2008
"this gun is a half to have. out of the box it shoots around 350fps and has great hop up so it gets really good range. the gun has a good rof and looks and feels great my only problem with it is that you will eventually have problems with the wiring it is verry flimsy but over all great gun
by Richard S. on 07/13/2008
"Simply the best gun out there. It feels great, it is the best feeling rifle I have ever held whether it be RS or AS. It is light, but not cheapo light, since it is only off by 3 grams of the real gun. There are some problems with the gun, in its stock form, but most guns do. The hopup is simply amazing. The only thing I am dissatisfied about the gun is the fact that I didn't get in tan.
by Keoric E. on 10/03/2017
"Ok so i have had several airsoft weapons over the course of 7 years, and by far, this is one of the most disappointing ones i have gotten yet. Now do note that this weapon is not total garbage, but rather, it does not give you *bang* for your buck. The External build quality of this airsoft firearm blew me out of the water. I mean this feels like my real steel MK 16, and breaks down mostly in the same manner. So what makes or breaks this bb shooting firearm?
Well internally, it performs like a 150$ Lancer Tactical... or so I thought. Out of the package, my barrel came bent, making my shots drop off and deviate. Also to note; the barrel is pretty much a wide bore so a tbb is a must have. I have since then slapped a tbb in it, and it shoots like a beauty, if it weren't for its mediocre trigger response. If this weapon wasn't near 400$, i would cut some slack, but i will reiterate, its almost 400$ (same price bracket would be EMG and Krytac) if you don't have time or money to tech, go with a Krytac or EMG for this price range, but if you just LOVE the SCAR platform like myself, and dont mind giving a little TLC, this is a must have, for it is the best one on the market. After i fixed the barrel with an Angel Customs 6.01 tbb, this is my favourite weapon and it makes my team look all the more awesome.

pros: Build Quality is top notch and unmatched
Realistic Takedown
Tan has a beautiful bronze finish
According to most other people, it is extremely accurate, mine was it because of
a bent barrel
FNH trades
Insane rate of fire.

Cons: OK out of box trigger response
Super expensive.
by nicholas t. on 05/29/2015
"I've had this gun for about 6 months now. out of the box, the gun is great for the intermediate players. this disappointed me due to the fact that the grand total was ~$400. regardless, out of the box, the gun is well constructed. the external finish is incredible, and some of the internal parts were desirable parts. however, the piston rack was plastic, and stripped after moderate use. that was not a problem as I had a metal rack piston laying around. the wiring used for this build seemed to be 14 awg wiring and not the best quality. it did its job, however wasn't fast enough for my cqb fields. this was replaced by a nuke fet. with a metal rack piston and any mosfet really, this gun will run great. on an average 9.6v 1600mah battery, the gun ran 20rps (this is after the piston and mosfet upgrade). PLEASE PLEASE DON'T GET IT TWISTED. this gun is wonderful. other than the wiring and piston this gun has good internals. the compression was outstanding clocking at 395 fps, and the motor was of decent torque (though also replaced by a G&G high torque). the gears are a good idea with the self shimming concept. the gun has little problems with mags. it will fit G&G, VFC, Elite Force, and any stanag magazines. this is the go to gun for anyone who is tech savvy, and not afraid of upgrading the rifle. if you are afraid, the please save yourself the cost of upgrades. to sum up the gun, I love it. there isn't a better scar out there IMO. the range is above the average airsoft guns range ( im guessing 180. although I installed a tight bore the first day). if you want a killer rifle, then do not be afraid of buying this gun. just be prepared to fix the piston eventually, and buy a 0.9mm hex key for the selector switch.

pro :
ambidextrous and all the parts are sold here on evike incase of a damaged part
right under 400 fps
gorgeous externals
compression
good angle of engagement ( after the new piston )
self shimming gears
decent torque motor
realistic and easy takedown
consistent range and accuracy
trade marks
robustness of the paint on the metal ( very scratch resistant)

cons: this is what makes or breaks a gun
jank piston ( for 389.99 should have installed a metal rack)
high resistance wiring
difficulty in installing aftermarket wiring
lose hop up wheels ( the hop up unit can take G&G aftermarket wheels/dials)
battery space ( you will need a nunchuck!)
the bolt assembly does not like fingerprints (turns a purple tint from finger oils on metal)

im sorry for how picky I am. I just want to cover everything for the next buyer to learn off of
by Dustin D. on 04/20/2015
"I recieved this gun a little over a month ago and Ive been able to actually play with it a couple of times since then. Like most people will and have said, this gun is incredibly light. Of all the AEG's Ive handled, this is by far the lightest. The externals are what anyone expects from VFC which means your going to get the highest quality available. Internally unfortunately this gun is much to be desired though functionally, this gun will likly outperform most stock AEG's. Mine has been pretty accurate and was shooting right at 400 fps with .2s with very little variance. Just like others have said, the biggest drawback externally to this gun is the battery housing for the stock. DO NOT USE A STANDARD MINI TYPE BATTERY! I had to modify my 9.6 T-eng Nimh to fit in the stock whereas the nun-chuck style battery I have fits with little effort. With a big automotive style fuse and fairly fragile wiring, you really have to be careful about collapsing your stock and good luck getting it to collapse the entire way. After my last game, the positive connector to my fuse has aready broken off and Ive always been very careful with it. The wiring snags on the collapsing mechanism all the time. If the mechanism used to collapse the stock was better designed many of these wouldnt be an issue. I wouldnt run a 11.1 on this just because it isnt neccesary. This gun should be used more as a sub-DMR field rifle and not as a CQB weapon despite it having a folding stock.

Pros:
- Incredibly light, great for all day events
- Externals are what VFC is known for

Cons:
- Stock and battery housing could have been better designed
- Wiring could be better as well
- Only Nun-chuck style or maybe some lipos will fit