Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Extended Holiday Phone Support M-F 7am-6pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
HAPPY HOLIDAYS - 25% OFF (exclusions apply, see details)   Use code: NEWLOOK

Licensed Metal Gearbox FAMAS F1 Bullpup Airsoft AEG Rifle

31 Customer Reviews

by dominic h. on 04/24/2010
"this is a very great gun i have owned one for about a year now and it still works like i got it out the box the two things that i dont care for is that the semi-auto is really slowww and the mag is kindof hard to put in some times.this is a great gun for wars and has a great rate of fire this gun is for you!
by chris p. on 04/15/2010
"This gun is amazing! I am not going to be like a normal reviewer and completely insult this gun...because there is nothing to insult! Great gun, high fps (around 400 with a .20), extreme accuracy even on full auto, very durable, nice weight to it, full metal outer barrel, comfortable. But one thing about it is that you need to buy a better battery, about a 8.4v 3600mAh because after 10 minutes of playtime the rate of fire is already lowering. It's an easy fixer and has nothing to do with the gun. Just buy the gun with, a nice new battery and some .23 matrix bbs and you are settled!
by Sean D. on 08/14/2015
"I'll sum up the entire review now so you don't have to go through a wall of text.

The gun has nice build quality, especially durable when it needs to. Internals could use some work, as mine had a terrible gearbox locking issue, however gearboxes for this gun are EXTREMELY Cheap. Performance is great and the availability of magazines... not so much.

Pros
-Externally, the gun is made out of some pretty nice plastic in almost every part, but it does creak a little bit. It's not very noticeable during a match, as fire is going past you, and the parts that need to be metal, like the trigger, are made out of a solid metal. It's not pot metal, and it's DEFINITELY not hollow. In my opinion, it does at just a bit of weight, but hey, it adds a nice touch to it. Overall, the nice plastic and very nice metal are all pros of it.
-Internally, the gun is okay, but more on the good side. Usually, the gearbox inside of the gun brand new is amazing. It's shimmed enough to make a nice, smooth sound while shooting, and the rate of fire is great with a 9.6v, and the motor holds up very well. Stock, the spring is somewhere around the power of an M120, because I got 400+ fps. (Something you have to try is shooting the gun at night with a flashlight next to the barrel. You won't regret it.) If you ever need to replace the gearbox, you can find one on amazon for about $25, and it's like getting a hole new gun.

Cons
-Externally, the gun is a beast, but the weight is a little unrealistic and light. I wouldn't take off a point for this, but it's something to keep in mind if you're looking for a full, heavy metal replica. If you want to do a fast disassembly of the gun, be prepared to be frustrated and waste a few hours of your life. Each little hole has a different sized screw, and if you lose one, you're screwed (pun intended). The other problem I had with the externals was the battery compartment. It looks like it's huge and will hold any kind of battery. Of course, it does, but it will take some struggling to fit in any sort of large type or candy bar style battery. I'd recommend something like a butterfly type battery, or maybe think about taking off the foam in the handguard itself.
-Internally, the gearbox may not hold up. I did have some issues with the gearbox being locked up, so I decided to replace it. Thankfully, they are very available and cheap. The stock spring may not hold up for long, and the wire are soldered on the motor, meaning that they are a little delicate on the motor. Unfortunately, since this, and the TM Famas are the only AEG's to use a version 1 gearbox, very few techs will work, or even know how to work on the gun. If you do have a problem with the internals, it's worth just getting a hole new gearbox and saving yourself time.

Other thoughts
-I know that the gun is a F1 style famas, so it's not meant to take m4 style magazines, and famas mags are not that widely available, not to mention expensive; however, I do believe that there are ways to modify the gun to do so. If you are someone who likes to mess with their gun, this mod may be something t look into.
-Overall, the gun is great, and if you need to fix it, just buy a new gearbox. It's what I did, and that was probably the best decision of my airsoft life.

If you took the time to read this whole review, you get a free internet cookie
If you decided to scroll to the bottom for a tl;dr, read the top again.
by Jonathan L. on 09/09/2014
"So I personally bought the FAMAS; my first airsoft aeg, because of my love of the look and playing video games with it.

So far I've put everything together, and got to target shoot with it a few times.

Pros: Relatively cheap. Accurate. Bull-pup(personal opinion), sturdy but not too heavy.

Cons: Not digging the battery compartment, iron sights are difficult to use. No top rail mount is featured in this specific bundle. So if you plan on upgrading, youll have to buy the expensive rail mount of $40ish dollars. The FAMAS has specific mags that can only be used with the gun itself, and you get one mag with the gun, but mags are pretty cheap at $15, so no big deal. Also, loading the mag in, is kinda tricky, but youll just get used to it.

As of right now, i have gotten to try it out at a field, but will be soon, will provide update on performance.

If you're a big fan of the FAMAS, and plan to upgrade or use alot in airsoft, i reccomend buying the bundle scope and top rail aeg FAMAS for $200. Youll save money overall.
by Kyler J. on 05/24/2014
"Not bad at all for the price. The others reviews here are accurate to my experience with this AEG.
Some things to consider:
9.6V NiMh battery gives it a very very nice ROF but definitely is not good for the gun. The internals are just too flimsy to be moving that fast.
The gearbox is Ver. 1 and while it claims to be "fully upgradeable"... It is not. There are very few things you can do to the internals of this gun. So while it works well for a beginner at first, it cannot be taken much farther than that.
Externally, it looks sort of cute, and is CQB length, but its cheap. The 'iron' sights (I should really say plastic sights) are painfully easy to bump. There is no way to lock the windage or elevation adjustments so if you sit your gun down and pick it back up, it will probably be aiming wayyy off.
In my experience, M4 mags do not fit in this AEG, so you have to find those rare FAMAS magazines. I guess Marui ones are sold on evike, but they are too expensive.

All in all, its not a bad gun. But, unless you really want the distinct shape of the FAMAS, you should probably get a cheaper G&G m4 for its upgradeability, compatibility, and more practical form factor.
by Brendan K. on 06/03/2013
"Over all this is a very good gun. It has good power range and accuracy. The only issue i have had with this gun is the occasional electrical fluctuation which causes semi auto to sometimes stop working, but it can be fixed by switching to full auto or safe then back to semi. The magazine is not the best, but you can buy better ones here on evike. Over all this works well as an assault rifle, and as a dmr. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a bull pup rifle, or to anyone who wants a dmr set up.
by Fredrick S. on 04/25/2013
"This is a great gun!!!!
I just got it a few days ago and i love it.
It has a really nice weight to it, almost as much as the real one.
I shot .25 gram BBs with it and they were consistently going about 180 feet.
It has a great rate of fire, its very accurate, and its nice and compact.
My one complaint is that the battery is a bit hard to get in, but nothing serious.
I also like that it came with a battery.

All around a great gun, especially for $150.00!!!!
by Lara M. on 04/01/2013
"Really good gun don't be deceived by the price
Pros
High rate of fire
Metal bi bipod
Hicap mag
Easy to work on internals
Lots of attachments

Cons
Needs small type battery
Hard to find mags
Mag tends to miss feed on medcaps
Plastic body but very strong
by David W. on 11/19/2011
"great gun with great rof and good fps 466 the problem is the outside is mostly plastic and the battery is killing me it is so hard to put the battery in
by Wes E. on 07/13/2011
"I got this in the 2011 box of awesomeness and it is truly awesome:

Pros:
1. Very good fps.
2. Looks and feels cool and comfortable.
3. Built in Bi-Pod.
4. You can buy tactical rails for it.
5. Lightweight and durable.
6. A neat and rare gun to have on the field.

Cons:
1. Mine had a broken magazine when I bought it, but you can buy 3 mid cap mags for about $58 total.
2. The battery is a pain to put in.
by isaiah m. on 06/09/2011
"this gun is amazing. i recomend using a 9.6 volt because of the higher rof.
Pros:
high fps
high rof (with a 9.6 otherwise its ok)

Cons:
hard to find extra magazines
hard to find rails
by Jack R. on 03/28/2011
"Being an intermediate gun, i would say it is great.
Pro:
metal barrel, bipod, trigger box, sights, mag, gear and gearbox
6 lbs.
fast rate of fire
long-lasting battery
on and off system to save battery life

Con:
mostly plastic
foreign parts
doesnt use m4 mags (i bought it thinking it did..and i had spare mags for my scar and they wouldn't fit)
battery dont fit in well(i had so much probs i ended up making a holster for it and attaching it to the gun
btw:for the same price you can get a great m4
by Roman M. on 11/18/2010
"This is a good AEG for beginner to intermediate airsofters.

I do not recommend this gun for professional skirmishes.

Pros :
Mostly Metal
Accurate
Good heavy feel
Very strong Bi-pod
Adjustable sights and such

Cons :
The clip jams every once in awhile
sometimes doesn't shot unless you hold it upside down but easy fix
no sight rail :(

Overall it's a good gun
by Gabe Z. on 06/12/2014
"I had this gun and it worked great for about a year but its internals are not good at all. By the 2nd year the fps of this gun was terrible. Would not recommend this gun for competitive airsofters.
by Brendan E. on 11/22/2011
"this gun was not quite what i expected.

Pros-
looks cool
bipod
good trademarks
sights are good

Cons-
the battery is a pain
the ROF is terrible
fps-361
wobbly bipod
mag doesnt feed right
mag is wobbly
mine shot 3 bbs at a time occasionally
6.09mm barrel diameter
a bit lighter than i expected(could be a pro)
EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO UPGRADE
mags are expensive
no threaded barrel
externals are all plastic
one tac rail
horrific trigger response
not good battery space
the stock is not for tall people(im 6'3'')
not well shimmed
not highspeed or high torque gears
bad air seal in nozzle, hop-up, barrel, etc

overall the gun has a lot of problems but it does look very nice. if u are willing to put up with the problems u must invest in midcap magazines(3 for 58 dollars) and get a tightbore and air seal and it might make a good dmr