Reviews: Socom Gear Limited Edition 24K Gold Plated WE 1911 Government Airsoft Gas Blowback Pistol (Shiny Gold Finish)

$185.00 $157.25

8 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-SG-1911-Gold
Location: U13-126

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)

by Robert M. on 2014-11-28 09:59:23
"Mag broke on first time loading
Keeps jamming
Won't fire
Messed up spring
Mag spring is WAY too strong
by jin K. on 2013-08-01 13:55:20
"To start off, the gun looks MUCH better than in the pictures provided. It's more of a shiny yellow gold in real life than the light bronze in the pictures.
The orange tip I got was not threaded, but was SO much harder to take off than other guns. I own many of WE's guns so it's a piece of cake taking it off, but this time it took me about 3 hours with a few different tools. When soaking it in hot water wasnt enough, I put it in boiling water on the stove for about 15 minutes then used pliars to take it off.
My serial number is in the 900's, so I dont know if only 500 were really made.

Pros
-Looks beyond amazing. Gorgeous, beautiful, grandiose, you name it.
-the grip is really rubber(you can feel it move if you squeeze it), so it feels really nice in your hands
-There's writing all over this gun and it really adds to the sexiness
-I've never been so happy with my purchase, even when I got myself a KWA LM4. You wont be disappointed, trust me on this one.

Cons
-Rubber grip smells a bit funny, but thats sort of what rubber smells like
-serial number above 500, but who gives?
-Basically everything that's black will turn silver very soon
by Steven C. on 2012-04-13 12:58:20
"This is the first airsoft gas gun I've ever owned, I don't go airsofting much so I picked out this one as a collectors. I'm pretty happy I got a limited edition one but I was kind of skeptical when the serial # was above 500, so I don't know about the credibility of this gun being only 500 of these worldwide, perhaps it's not the case. Nevertheless, I can bet that not many people on the field have this gun so you could look pretty fancy with this one. Everything on this gun is solid except for the clip. The clip isn't as much as I would like but it is a 1911, so you can't ask for too much. If you're looking for a collector's this is certainly the gun for you. However, if you're looking for something that could be more useful or efficient on the field, I would recommend a gun with a bigger clip.

Pros:
Accurate
Bling bling golden shine
Threaded orange tip (so you can take it off for display at home)
Nice and comfortable grip
True weight and design

Cons:
Strange rubber smell
Serial number is above 500?
Some very small blemishes on the gun, perhaps it was a reshelved gun? But still nice.
by Andy H. on 2012-02-21 18:45:50
"I have to say, I am impressed by how heavy this thing is. It's all metal, gold plate, the picture on the site could be better, and it fells really nice. I was surprised that the inside was even gold plated. The grip feels really nice and does its job right. My gun seemed to be used but knowing that there are only 500 of this model in the world, it would make sense and since evike puts good and useable condition guns back on the shelf, it would only make sense. Its a bit pricy for a regular Socom Gear 1911 just plated with gold, yet for looks and the feeling of power you get when you hold it is worth it in my opinion.

Pros:
Sturdy
Good weight
Good grip
Flashy

Cons:
Rubber grip might smell bad (or it might be just mine, then again it is rubber)
Mine was used and was slightly used but nothing too eye catching since most of the signs are on the interior of the mag well
Magazine holds 15 rounds and hogs gas.
by Benjamin E. on 2011-12-29 22:39:57
"Had mine for about a year and she works perfectly. Mag capacity isn't great, but its a 1911 so....
by Michael R. on 2011-12-21 15:10:19
"This is my first GBB I ever owned. So, I guess its a nice gun for a beginner huh? So, I've only had it for about two months. I used it in some special zombie games my airsoft center ran. I managed to kill 3 zombies, but then ran out of ammo. I only got to start with 10 rounds and I dropped two. Anyway, the magazine is kind of small because it is single stacked. 15 rounds to be exact. You can get maybe a mag and a half's worth of green gas through it without filling it up. The 24k gold plating makes this gun supercallifragilisticexpyalladocius. I'm tellin' ya, this gun is AWESOME. If you want something your friends will go "Ooh" and "Ahh" at, this is the gun to get. And the best part is: It doesn't cost a fortune! Other gold plated pistols cost at least $300! This is a very low price. Guys and gals, GET THIS GUN!
Pros:
a sweet M1911A1 design,
well, its gold!
shoots powerfully

Cons:
Uhhhhhh, kind of a gas hog and has only a 15 rd mag.
by Sean L. on 2011-09-15 11:50:01
"I've had this gun for about 8 or 9 months i think, and its amazing, its my first full metal GBB and i love it. it has decent kick, although its my only full metal GBB so im not sure how much recoil is normal for these. it works flawlessly, the only problems ive had with it is the outer barrel came apart but nothing a little super glue couldn't fix. the other problem is sometimes it runs out of gas before the magazine is empty but i use it primarily for backyard target practice and small skirmishes so its not a huge problem. the gold finish makes this thing look unbelievable. some of the black components are faded but the gold is still all there. the sights are a little hard to see sometimes against light colored backdrops but again, thats no biggie. overall the gun is a great buy.
by anthony r. on 2010-09-24 19:46:39
"well, it looks like im the first reviewer. Well lets get started! This Gun is a We tech, its a government model , full metal, 280+ FPS using green gas, 24K Gold Plated, And A blowback model. So I really want to get this beautiful handgun but the price! is it worth it and this gun is just a normal government model 1911 with the gold finish. can somebody please answer me back if its in good shape if you had it for a while. Thanks-Famous

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)